We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, attractive reasonably priced accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeler on the Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheeler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeler on the Bay Lodge
Save
You added Wheeler on the Bay Lodge to your Saves list
580 Marine, drHighway 101, Wheeler, OR 97147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheeler B&B and Inns
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, attractive reasonably priced accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

This small motel is comfortable attractive and reasonably priced. I felt the host and hostess went out of their way to be sure I was comfortable. The motel is located right on the Nehalem River which is a very pleasant amenity. The location is perfect for my needs. The room where I stayed had a jacuzzi which was quite nice. Eating establishments are close by. Very clean. Lots of towels available.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    25
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
89
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This hotel is an example of why I love tripadvisor. Without tripadvisor I would have probably never stayed at this little gem. It isn't a chain, and its charm definitely isn't captured on its rustic web page. As a matter of fact, its web page made me question whether I wanted to stay, as the rooms are hard to get a gauge on.

However, with the many positive ratings from tripadvisor, I felt safe. I was right. What a great little place. Our room was small, but well organized, homey, and clean. We had Suite Sea, with its two bedrooms and small living room, gas fireplace, and dvd/vhs player.

The hotel feels like a little resort, with its own free video store, dock, kayaks, barbecue grills, and so on. The hosts are constantly on-the-run, tending to guests needs in a down-home sort of way.

Wheeler itself is very small, but has a magnificent view. It is just a few minutes south of the more populous Manzanita, and about 20 minutes south of busy Canon Beach.

We had a blast kayaking, though the hotel is a bit too far north to make it easily into the larger bay where most kayakers in the Tillamook area spend their days. The kayaks are free if you spend two or more nights, which is a nice feature.

The breakfast items are small, but they can tide you over until an early lunch. The hotel owners pointed us in the right direction for some great ice cream at a good price.

We really enjoyed our stay, appreciated the hospitality of our hosts, and felt like the hotel and tripadvisor didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We had a great time at this little place. We kayaked, went to the beach, ate at a fancy smancy restaurant (Nehalem River Inn) and stumbled over our luggage. The Sunset Room has a great view, but it was very small for two people. A queen bed against the wall, no place to put luggage except in front of the fireplace or the front door. Nice people, Nice toiletries, lots of towels. Unusual policy of only cleaning your room on request. OK with us. Good kayaking and near other coastal points of interest. Quiet and the weather was nice and cool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Room with the jacuzzi is the best and it is right on the bay, the owners are the best.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a small lodge run by a couple and their wonderful son Jesse. It is clean, neat and comfortable. We had the Otter Room which was spacious and had a view from the back deck. There are only 2 restaurants in town and the fishshack had the best steamed clams I have had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed one night and wished it was more. So many small touches that added up to a first class experience. This small inn overlooks Wheeler Bay. Our room, the Blue Heron, had a limited view from the breakfast nook table. But a short walk to the end of the pier where there were plenty of deck chairs affordable to panoramic view.

The best part of the stay here were all the thoughtful amenities. From the room decor to the "boxed breakfast choices" to the in-room snacks, the owners had done a great job making your stay top-notch. Really would recommend this inn to friends/family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

My girlfriends and I were looking for an inexpensive place to celebrate a wedding and moving across the country for the bride. It was the perfect place to help spend time together, chat, and catch up. I was a little worried when I saw how low the price was that it would be a little crazy but it was very clean, comfortable and the owners could not have been more kind! The breakfast choices were good as were the snacks. Lots of personal touches!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler on the Bay Lodge

Address: 580 Marine, drHighway 101, Wheeler, OR 97147
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Wheeler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge for the finest North Oregon Coast Lodging with spectacular waterfront mountain views. Our quaint little coastal inn is located on the Nehalem Bay and is a great location for you to enjoy kayaking and fishing – you can even moor your boat on our private dock! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheeler On The Bay Hotel Wheeler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeler on the Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.