We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeler on the Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wheeler on the Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Wheeler on the Bay Lodge
580 Marine, drHighway 101, Wheeler, OR 97147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheeler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I were riding our bikes down the coast of Oregon and booked a night here not knowing what to expect. What we found was a delightful lodge with very friendly owners, and a cozy room we never wanted to leave. Food next door at the tsunami restaurant was excellent why we watched the sun set from the deck. We are use trying to think of excuses to come again when we dont have to leave so quickly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    25
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
91
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

These were the first words my 14 year-old daughter said when we entered room #11 called either the Rainbow Room or the Coral Room. Pat and Tracy checked us in and McKenzie walked us to our room to show us around. You get to choose your breakfast basket (3 items for each person) and a couple of movies. We chose "Stand By Me" since it was filmed in Oregon while sitting on a little couch with the fireplace casting a nice glow through a beautifully decorated little living room. Also, there's candy and popcorn in the basket on the kitchen table...we felt we were home.

This place is a gem: independently and lovingly owned and operated by the owners with a marina on one end and the 101 on the other. After a long drive up the gorgeous Oregon coast, a glass of wine and Tillamook cheese while overlooking the bay was a fitting ending for a beautiful day. We chose a restaurant right next door (Tsunami Bar and Grill) and, though the service was slow, the food was worth the wait. In the morning, we awoke to a fleet of small boats in the bay doing some lazy fishing with the fog silently as a backdrop. This place is gorgeous and defines what hospitality is supposed to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We typically like to travel without reservations as we rarely know where we will decide to stop for the night. We happened onto this gem just by chance and are so glad we did! It is obvious immediatly that the owners, Pat & Tracy put their hearts and souls into this property, making it so comfortable and inviting beginning with the dock, with free kayaks. We stayed in Room 4 which included a fireplace, jacuzzi, TV with VCR and DVD player, very comfy bed and many special touches that you don't normally expect! On top of the coffee, frig, microwaveand light breakfast, you were able to select up to 2 movies to watch in your room, as well as popcorn & M&Ms!
Pat & Tracy are so interested in making sure you have a nice time and are happy with your room, you almost feel like they are family ... And that was only after one night! We would totally recommend Wheeler on the BAY Lodge & Marina if you are in the area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Wheeler on the Bay is not an ordinary place to stay. After checking in and receiving the quick tour you felt like your family was running the place. The decorations were very tasteful and cute. We discovered the place relaxing with great sitting places right on the bay to observe the fishermen and wildlife across the bay. Easy access and great location for exploring the area. Zoro the watch cat is the best...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Was visiting my brother in Manzaneta, and stayed overnight here recently.
Very nice clean spotless rooms, host very gracious and helpful.
Rating this as 'very good' and not 'excellent' only because the tv's need to be upgraded to larger model.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent two nights at the Bay Lodge. We picked the honeymoon suite for the three year anniversary of our honeymoon in Crete, Greece, and we couldn't have made a better choice.
We received the warmest of greetings upon arrival and both the room and the service were everything we expected and more. We truly felt at home and yet, at the same time, we felt as if we were on a truly wonderful vacation. The view, the fresh air in the morning, the barbecue on the private deck and watching movies at night in the hot-tub - all of these combine to make this one of the most memorable stays we've ever had. Oh, did I mention the friendliness of this family? They are absolutely incredible and we booked another weekend right away, just because we hated the thought of leaving for good.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room with a view towards the bay. It's breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Spent three of the most wonderful days in the honeymoon suite. Peace and relaxation just begins to describe our experience sitting on our private deck, watching the sun set and the clouds come through the mountain passes (but they stayed away from us) followed by soaking in our hot tub. There's even some nice wildlife. Pat and Tracy were friendly, cheerful, helpful hosts. Truly enjoyed talking with them. The best fresh crab in Oregon is just a couple of miles away at the Jetty Fishery. Breakfast choices are limited, but there's always Wanda's in Nehalem, a short drive or paddle away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler on the Bay Lodge

Address: 580 Marine, drHighway 101, Wheeler, OR 97147
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Wheeler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Wheeler on the Bay Lodge for the finest North Oregon Coast Lodging with spectacular waterfront mountain views. Our quaint little coastal inn is located on the Nehalem Bay and is a great location for you to enjoy kayaking and fishing – you can even moor your boat on our private dock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Wheeler on the Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler On The Bay Hotel Wheeler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeler on the Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.