We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECOND TO NONE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambia Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandy Ground
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambia Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Ambia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
South Hill, Sandy Ground AI2640, Anguilla (Formerly Ambia Bed & Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sandy Ground B&B and Inns
south carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“SECOND TO NONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed 10 days at Ambia..... can't say enough good things about the hosts, location and the hotel. Ambia is exquisite, yet comfortable. Very laid back. Breakfasts were "off the map" good. Bob, Magda and Barbara were a delight to spend time with. They took such good care of us and helped us decide where to visit while on Anguilla. Bob and Magda transported us to/from the Ferry Terminal and even helped arrange our car rental. Since driving is easy, it didn't matter that Ambia wasn't on the beach... the views were stunning and Ambia is centrally located. There are too many good beaches to be situated on just one.
Going out for meals was wonderful but being able to have breakfast, or dinner and cocktails while admiring the views was the best. And the ultimate testament: we have made arrangements to stay at Ambia next year!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
55
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Architect Bob has built a beautiful home that really makes the most of Anguilla. We spent a few days here as a side trip from St. Martin and really enjoyed it. Bob, Magda and Barbara were SO nice and friendly. Ambia doggies Ruby and Maya were also very welcoming :) Bob arranged our car rental and picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry. Ambia is not on the beach, but Anguilla has so many beautiful beaches that you would want to see more than one anyway, and Ambia is very centrally located to reach any of them in just a few minutes. The rooms are even nicer than what the website shows with a great Asian asthetic that doesn't clash with the modern Caribbean heart of the place. (The no door bathrooms do require you to be very open with the other person in your room though!) Views were amazing from all the rooms, and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful and cooked to order. Magda gave us loads of great advice for exploring Anguilla's beautiful beaches, and she really could not have been any more helpful with everything! We are counting the days till we can go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed in Ambia for only 3 nights, 4 days.. I know I know.. it’s not enough.. however we just enjoyed it so much! Strategic position (you are in the middle of the island), incredible view, super-friendly and funny people, great food! Do you need anything else??!! They have also a super-cool pool where you can enjoy some time at night after a wonderful day on the beach, enjoying the view of Sandy Ground and magical sunsets.. I don’t have to say anything about the house.. just check out the pictures..
One of the reason we liked so much this place were the persons; They were just great! Bob, Magda and Barbara make you feel like you’ve known them forever.. they give you great suggestions about places to go eat and best beaches on the island.. they are incredible cooks too. We just can’t wait to go back for a longer vacation!
Thank you Guys!
Enrico & Elisa

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The moment we stepped into the premise, the view immediately took our breath away! A pool overlooking Sandy Ground, and tasteful design in every room we entered. Wherever we stood, we couldn't help staring at the view. Especially at sun set time, the view is mesmerizing and we were totally hypnotized. One can see that a lot of thoughts have gone into the design of the house, as Bob (the owner) is also an architect and the creator of this beautiful house. Even small things like the wooden sun bathing chair right next to the pool are constructed with high quality craftsmanship.

It's by chance that we came across this beautiful B&B through TripAdvisor and booked 2 nights with Bob. We hope we do enough justice by capturing the beauty of this place in our pictures and recommend others to give it a try . Lastly, THANK YOU for all the great hospitality including Bob, Magda, and Barbara! We enjoyed all the good conversations we had and the generous breakfast you fed us before we took off to swim and snorkel. We certainly can see ourselves visiting Ambia again!

Amy & Marc

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest, u.s.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

i stayed at ambia for 8 weeks to escape the winter in the midwest..i contacted bob hurwit, the owner directly by email and made arrangements..i am a single female artist that was looking to paint during my stay...he offered to provide an easel and it was sitting in my room ready for me when i arrived...bob met me at the ferry after i flew in from st maarten...he was fun, appreciative and very accommodating....he loaded my bags and drove me to his hotel...ambia was completed in 2007 and it is beyond lovely...bob is an architect from back east and i cannot describe the attention to design detail at his place....he has five bedrooms, all terrific with contemporary furnishings and accessories, a bit of an asian flair with shoji screens for privacy at all the windows and doors...the bedrooms have select number beds, air conditioning and great open glass showers...the pool is fantastic with a stream fountain and built in seating…the surrounding deck has comfortable cushioned lounge chairs…the view overlooks sandy ground...every room has a private balcony with view and with shade provided...the landscaping is lush and tropical with a greenhouse on the property…
bob prepares breakfast every morning with gusto....the meal is enough to keep you going into the evening....bagels or toast, eggs; anyway you want them, grapefruit, bacon, tomatoes, juice and coffee....
he has been on the island off and on for 20 years and knows everything and everyone... the place is clean, well maintained, exquisitely designed and a place suited to groups, couples or singles that enjoy a quiet , peaceful place to chill....teenagers or adult children would enjoy ambia as well....it is located on south hill just next door to tastys restaurant...which is a plus because bob also will add your meals from tastys to your bill at the end of the stay...no need to carry money!! there is a roomy living area with large HD television and wireless internet service...bob is around in the mornings for breakfast and a nice chat, but is amazingly invisible when you want time to yourself in the kitchen, living room or pool...an absolutely perfect set up....i am so glad that i found bob and ambia on a random internet search...it is so much better than staying at a large hotel....i highly recommend ambia.....i welcome any and all questions about ambia and anguilla in general....i am a diver, snorkeler, sailor and general beach lover...I also have been to most all restaurants, bars, beaches on the island many times over now….i rented a car which is a must in anguilla unless you stay in one of the large resorts and dont ever venture out...i liked the local color and I enjoyed visiting all the art galleries, markets, music events, etc......i will definitely return to anguilla and intend to winter there again next year with bob at ambia....i hope to see you there!!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

What a nice trip-Anguilla can be pricey with all of the new hotels and villas. Ambia was affordable, romantic and I felt like I was at home. I will be going back in December.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambia Boutique Hotel

Address: South Hill, Sandy Ground AI2640, Anguilla (Formerly Ambia Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > Sandy Ground
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandy Ground
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a harmony of contemporary Asian and Caribbean flavors, Ambia offers guests the charm of a bed-and-breakfast, the luxury of a hotel, and the comforts of home. Ambia is centrally located in Anguilla, with spectacular views overlooking Sandy Ground, and the island’s 33 magnificent white-sand beaches are only minutes away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.