We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambia Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandy Ground
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambia Boutique Hotel
Save Saved
You added Ambia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
South Hill, Sandy Ground AI2640, Anguilla (Formerly Ambia Bed & Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sandy Ground B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Ambia as part of our honeymoon Magda and Lorne made us feel right at home and even met us at the wharf.
The property itself is great the rooms are spacious and airy with great views and funky bathrooms.
Would love to make it back one day!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Thanks again Sandra Lorne and Magda, your friendliness, attentiveness and service added to the really top quality accommodation, fantastic beach island and the "locals' that we have encountered on any other trips, made this a wonderfully relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda C, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hey Mark, thank you guys so much for choosing Ambia and we would be happy to welcome you back any time in the future .
Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

There are many kind things said of Magda in previous reviews, but it's hard to believe Ambia could run any better than when Lorne and Sandra are in charge. With Magda away from the island during our stay, they served as incredible hosts. Whatever Sandra makes for breakfast, you should eat. Wherever Lorne recommends to go for beach or dinner, you should go. "Above and beyond" doesn't begin to cut it. On two consecutive days, Lorne took time out of his day to drive us to the beach (and pick us up!); Anguilla would be wise to make him the official, whole-island ambassador. Ambia itself was a welcome change from the ordinary hotel circuit. Every bit of the property is stylishly built, and the perch atop the hill, overlooking Sandy Ground, beats beachfront any day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda C, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you guys it makes the whole team of Ambia proud to get great reviews and we hope you will return to Ambia in the near future,
Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just had a week in Anguilla and stayed at Ambia. The location and views were great and the staff was fabulous. Magda and Lon met us at the airport with a rental car and took us back to the guest house. They were so helpful and had lots of wonderful advice for our holiday activities. Lots of local knowledge enhanced our stay tremendously. They provided us with an awesome breakfast, snorkeling gear, coolers and anything we needed. An awesome relaxed environment and we will definitely be back to stay at Ambia. Doug and Kristen and family. Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: we loved the room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Ambia for a week this December and it was perfect. This was our 4th stay at Ambia, and it was as ideal as our first visit... which often isn't the case. Magda, Lorne, Sandra are the consummate hosts who are not only accommodating but enjoyable to spend time with. They helped arrange rentals, meals/ferry reservations and any other needs.

Ambia is so unique that even with other guests, you always have plenty of privacy and it is nice to meet others from around the world. Breakfasts, which always included fresh fruit and breads, are made to order and are top shelf!

The perfect destination!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda C, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hey Yvonne and Larry, thank you so much and we will be waiting for you next year...along with Barbara and Ruby
MAGDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We travel a LOT & had one of our best trips ever
The B&B is small friendly & spotlessly clean
Magda the lady who runs it could not be more efficient & helpful
The building itself is beautifully designed
We loved it & could not recommend it more highly enough

Adrian & Jennifer

Very rarely do we go back to the same place but for Ambia we would easily be prepared to make an exception

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobHurwit, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you guys so much, we also enjoy your company and hope you will return to Ambia soon!!!
Magda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The place was just right and exactly what we needed, a very nice 4 room B&B, best thing was during October 2012 we were the only guest there it was the slow time on Anguilla. Well I like the fact that we could get up at various times in the morning from 8 to 9:30 or so and Magda just would take care of us with amazing breakfast each morning. We were never rushed very laid back being the only guest has it's perks. She met us at Ferry Boat landing with the rental car we would be using. (I did not even think about that, but she did and it worked great) Me and My special lady had the best time there taking in suggestions from Magda & Loran. We planed to get married while there and all information we needed was supplied for that to happen. We became very close to Magda while there, I'm sure we will be back again. We had our Wedding on the beach near Shoal Bay late in the afternoon. It was simple and simply perfect. Magda & Loran also were helpful in standing in the wedding and being witnesses. The place has a very nice atmosphere with great sunrises, the kind you savor over a great cup of coffee in the morning as you hear the rosters crow in a distance, and the small birds flying about starting there day. Its a place where you can began to notice the things you have been passing by through you days. Its a place when with the right person, will be in you mind as one of the most precious time of you life. Magda just raises the bar for hospitality. We will go back again. The reviews here was one of the reasons I chose this place. They are correct in what they say. If you want a glitzy place thats big and very fancy there are those on the Island, Don't have any clue on what they are like, and they are right for many people, but for me Ambia has got me, and My now Wife for good.
Leighton H
Louisiana

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobHurwit, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hey guys, and you were perfect for Ambia, thank you so much for letting us to become a part of this special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambia Boutique Hotel

Address: South Hill, Sandy Ground AI2640, Anguilla (Formerly Ambia Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > Sandy Ground
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandy Ground
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a harmony of contemporary Asian and Caribbean flavors, Ambia offers guests the charm of a bed-and-breakfast, the luxury of a hotel, and the comforts of home. Ambia is centrally located in Anguilla, with spectacular views overlooking Sandy Ground, and the island’s 33 magnificent white-sand beaches are only minutes away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.