We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambia Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ambia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Ambia Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   South Hill, Sandy Ground AI2640, Anguilla (Formerly Ambia Bed & Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sandy Ground B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We travel a LOT & had one of our best trips ever
The B&B is small friendly & spotlessly clean
Magda the lady who runs it could not be more efficient & helpful
The building itself is beautifully designed
We loved it & could not recommend it more highly enough

Adrian & Jennifer

Very rarely do we go back to the same place but for Ambia we would easily be prepared to make an exception

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobHurwit, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you guys so much, we also enjoy your company and hope you will return to Ambia soon!!!
Magda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
55
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The place was just right and exactly what we needed, a very nice 4 room B&B, best thing was during October 2012 we were the only guest there it was the slow time on Anguilla. Well I like the fact that we could get up at various times in the morning from 8 to 9:30 or so and Magda just would take care of us with amazing breakfast each morning. We were never rushed very laid back being the only guest has it's perks. She met us at Ferry Boat landing with the rental car we would be using. (I did not even think about that, but she did and it worked great) Me and My special lady had the best time there taking in suggestions from Magda & Loran. We planed to get married while there and all information we needed was supplied for that to happen. We became very close to Magda while there, I'm sure we will be back again. We had our Wedding on the beach near Shoal Bay late in the afternoon. It was simple and simply perfect. Magda & Loran also were helpful in standing in the wedding and being witnesses. The place has a very nice atmosphere with great sunrises, the kind you savor over a great cup of coffee in the morning as you hear the rosters crow in a distance, and the small birds flying about starting there day. Its a place where you can began to notice the things you have been passing by through you days. Its a place when with the right person, will be in you mind as one of the most precious time of you life. Magda just raises the bar for hospitality. We will go back again. The reviews here was one of the reasons I chose this place. They are correct in what they say. If you want a glitzy place thats big and very fancy there are those on the Island, Don't have any clue on what they are like, and they are right for many people, but for me Ambia has got me, and My now Wife for good.
Leighton H
Louisiana

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobHurwit, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hey guys, and you were perfect for Ambia, thank you so much for letting us to become a part of this special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I chose Ambia for a weekend trip to Anguilla to propose to my girlfriend. I had no intentions of doing it at Ambia itself, but the view was too beautiful to pass up. Magda was so helpful in not only organizing the rental car, license, and planning things to do, but she even took beautiful pictures of our moment for us to have forever. It was the perfect getaway for us. Magda makes it so simple that there was literally nothing we had to do from arrival to leaving. Her breakfasts are nothing short of amazing and her advice is so on-point that by the end of the trip we were just doing exactly whatever she mentioned over breakfast; even down to what to order at each restaurant. We plan on going back to Ambia anytime that we return to Anguilla, and I highly recommend spending as much time in Sandy Ground as possible. It was our favorite part of the island and truly made our trip feel very personal and special. Thank you again Magda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobHurwit, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
thank you so much guys!!!! We will be happy to see you coming back to Anguilla and stay at Ambia
MAGDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeromesville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I highly recommend Ambia! I have stayed there twice in the past couple of months for several weeks at a time and have really enjoyed my stays there. Ambia is a quaint, clean, personalized, safe & peaceful place to stay in Anguilla. Magda, the manager of Ambia, always goes above and beyond to make her guests comfortable and happy. She even picks you up at the ferry dock. The pool and property offers a beautiful view over Sandy Ground, salt ponds, the blue sea and amazing sunsets. It is convenient to the West End beaches, town and Sandy Ground for nightlife and restaurants. Speaking of restaurants, you can walk to Tasty's. It is owned and operated by the chef, Dale, and the food is fabulous. This feels like my home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed @ ambia 8 nights in august 2012. The hotel is charming with a stunning view of the sea side.we stayed in the suite,that is very nice and comfortable and can accomodate a family, ith a useful kitchenette. the manager speak english very well and manage professionaly all your need. The property it is not on the beach but it is very easy and fast to reach every beaches of the island. less than 5 min you can find supermarket.

Peaceful and relaxing places.

Thanks magda anna federico and mariacecilia

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobHurwit, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
thank you so much, it was pleasure to have you guys!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Disliking StMarteen we took the short taxi (20usd fix price) + 45' ferry ride from Marigot to Anguilla. We had a booking via email and Magda was waiting our call upon arrival. She come to pick and drove us (keep left side, remember this..) to Ambia. There are 3 rooms and one suite, the rooms are in East/Japanese style without TV, without lock on the door and without safe as mentioned in previus reviews. Bathrooms are separately only by the head of the bed and are not allowing a great privacy.
Said this, our stay was wonderful and spotless. First of all our double bed was wide, well dressed and confortable, safety is a real strong point of the whole island and the Ambia place has a unique charm. Central in the island is perfect for going north or south (who in Anguilla would like to stick to a beach only??) and at walking distance from Tasty a good restaurant on the main road I will review later.
The common living room is a nice place to be in case of rain or for relaxing, having TV and sofas and another terrace overlooking Sandy Ground.
Breakfast is served on a large common table cooked on a perfectly and widely supplied kitchen and Magda is checking discretely in advance what time one has intention to get up... Any extra can be required and she is just happy to listen. On the day we left Magda got the timing and prepared earlier (without need of us to say a world) organizing our transfer to the ferry at right time. Here you do not need really to ask, you will be pampered automatically.
There is a small fridge in the room, bring whatever you like from the market or ask Magda.
Being low season (early August and for no reason... as far as we were there everything was perfect), there was only another young couple and for one day somebody has got the suite. Breakfast was a good time for exchanging ideas about the trip of the day with other guests.
We hv got the car we asked in advance, Magda had it at the Ambia for when we arrived and we got the temporary driving licence done in a second. no bureaucracy, no waste of time and perfect efficiency.
View at sunset is nice, the pool is small but refreshing and the real small size of the place makes it ideal also for a lazy time on the hedge of the pool, nothing like a large resort, rather like you would like to be at home.
We had a look around to other options and we would still select Ambia. Large hotels/resorts are secluded and quite similar to a million others in the world. Anguilla deserve a car, therefore no meaning to be on one beach only. For experienced travellers looking for a personal attention in a small luxury house, for the feeling of being appreciated guests there, Ambia is definitely the choice. People looking for standard 24 hours room service, crowd pools and unwilling to step out of the premises, please do not come here...
Magda was also discreet and so attenctive: she watched the sea for us and suggested - smoothly - the most calm one adding informations for the restaurant. She indicated best place for a romantic dinner, calling for reservation. This all was done without hassle neither pressure, like with real nonchalance in order to let free the customer to follow or not.
We have no idea about the man being too attenctive to a single lady reviewing earlier, if it was former owner (Bob) he has gone to heaven last year.
No doubt we will be here again, whenever again in the region.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobHurwit, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
WOW!!!! Thank you and as you know I will be here for your next visit in Anguilla, Thank you for your great review and it was pleasure to have you.
Magda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We travelled from Australia, & our friends from South Africa. Ambia lived up to all our expectations, we were so happy there. Wonderful Japanese styled rooms, smallish bathrooms incorporated in the huge rooms, patios, & all one could wish for.
Magda & Sandra looked after us so well, the breakfasts were delightful, & they both passed on all their knowledge of the island.
Just loved Barbara, what a 'together' lady in her nineties.

A vehicle is a must, difficult to walk far, & Ambia is basically on top of a hill overlooking the salt pans in the middle of the island. Gorgeous views of Sandy Beach too. Wonderful beaches all over the island. Some of the best in the Virgin Islands.
Eating out is generally expensive but that is normal in this part of the world. Amazing rum punches, but watch out...there is no control over the strength of them....they pack a punch!!
One of my fave evening places was the Pump House...superb Carribean music, & dancing.

We would love to go back & stay at Ambia again. It was too short.

PS: Our only small gripe were the mosquitoes...so many of them! Keep all screens closed at all times!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambia Boutique Hotel

Address: South Hill, Sandy Ground AI2640, Anguilla (Formerly Ambia Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > Sandy Ground
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandy Ground
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambia Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a harmony of contemporary Asian and Caribbean flavors, Ambia offers guests the charm of a bed-and-breakfast, the luxury of a hotel, and the comforts of home. Ambia is centrally located in Anguilla, with spectacular views overlooking Sandy Ground, and the island’s 33 magnificent white-sand beaches are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ambia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.