We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed after previous stays” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Hood Village RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Save
You added Mt Hood Village RV Resort to your Saves list
65000 East Highway 26, Welches, OR 97067   |  
Hotel amenities
Boring, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed after previous stays”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Upon check-in I waited approx. 5 minutes for the staff to finish a smoke break before acknowledging me. After finally checking in and receiving our site information we arrived at our site to find it completely covered in leaves. We called the office to request some clearing of the leaves and were told "we can bring you a rake". After spending $44 and making our reservation well in advance, this was not acceptable. We didn't want leaves tracked into our trailer all weekend. This is like checking into a hotel to find your room uncleaned. We were also informed that the heater in the pool was not functioning.
Our friends come here each year and rent a cottage. They were told there was an oven (as our plan each year is to cook a prime-rib dinner together). They arrived to find the spot an oven was previously built-in, empty and replaced with a tiny micro-wave oven. We had to cook the roast in our trailer. We and our friends had inquired ahead of time to be sure the "civil war" (Oregon State vs. U of O) game would be available on TV/cable in the resort. We were assured it was. IT WAS NOT.
We have been going to this resort for years. It is a special time with good friends. We were happy in the past but after this experience we won't be returning. No customer service, no maintenance, false information and no compensation for inconveniences all add up to a bad experience - not how we will choose to spend our limited time off.

Room Tip: Request that your site be cleaned of debris before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    8
    18
    12
See reviews for
35
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This resort looks nice at first but it is NOT! The campsite we were in was unlevel, not well cared for and we were surrounded by what seemed to be "permanent residents". However, that was nothing compared to the state of the bathrooms. We were there for 5 nights and not ONCE were the floors or the showers cleaned. Usually bathrooms in RV parks are cleaned twice a day with posted cleaning times. Not so here! The showers were particularly disgusting with visible mud/dirt on them and who knows what on the shower floor...remnants of bandages or kleenex. Gray scum was visible on the shower floors and walls. We asked repeatedly to have the bathrooms cleaned. The lady with the long gray hair said the "man responsible had been off for a few days". Incredible! When I'm off work, someone else does my job. It was obvious the floors and showers had not been cleaned in weeks if not months. Someone finally did come and clean the toilets and sinks but not the showers or floors. Nasty place...DO NOT stay here unless you like to shower in unsanitary conditions!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem,OR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed over Labor Day weekend, Friday-Monday. We didn't arrive until almost dark and found the check in procedure a bit confusing. Upon check-in we received a printed brochure, a booklet of several stapled papers and a few other sheets, and the mirror hanger with our site number and bathroom/gate codes. If you read through all of these things you will eventually figure out where the amenities are, how late everything is open, and possibly which codes work where. No mention of office/store hours or laundry room code (which was especially appealing having walked across the campground with wet towels in my hands), The site was fairly level and quite large. Trees and bushes screen you from most of the neighboring sites, the site on our right was totally open but that was on the RV side, so basically very private.
We received a site just on the other side of the road near the parking lot which was convenient to the pool/lodge/store and also to the karaoke. What, you say?? Karaoke?? Yes, many super fun Labor Day events were planned for the weekend, including a live band Sat. night, picnic, games and said karaoke Sunday. The band was actually fun, but I am fan of loud live music. Karaoke was probably fun for the kids who were doing it, however we could not escape 6 hours (6 HOURS- I am not making this up- 4pm-10pm) of loud, bad singing including (but not limited to) TWO performances of Tie a Yellow Ribbon. Friday was quiet.
The park is large, plenty of walking/biking trails, easy river access and super close access to the Wildwood Rec area. All in all, we liked the place, Here are my pros and cons:
PROS:
Large mostly level, private lots
(Mostly) clean bathrooms & showers
Lot's of trails for hiking/biking
Pool/hottub/store on site
A 15 minute walk from Wildwood (a must see!!)
Quiet (except for planned activities that we happened to be close to)

CONS:
-Each camping loop bathroom has a different code. If you're hiking/biking around beware-- if another camper doesn't open the door with you a it's a looooong walk to the loo
-Pay-Internet- it would be one thing if it were per site, but it's PER USER. We had 3 laptops, it would have been $53 for the weekend. We made do with using our cellphones as hotspots- the cellular coverage is pretty good (which is definitely a pro in itself)
-Lack of security- for all the differing codes and locked doors, I did not see one security patrol at night. You usually see them in both public and private campgrounds after 10 pm, making sure no one's on fire or being eaten by a bear, and enforcing quiet time. Not a one did I see.
-Lack of maintenance- showers in the fitness center are badly in need of patching, men's locker room is missing a sink/counter, husband entered men's locker to find the toilets unusable due to an accident, loop showers are no showerhead/push every 2 minutes for water type. Water sprays directly onto the floor and your dry clothes.
-The fitness center (pool/hot tub) is open to the non-camping PUBLIC. So you are swimming with 500 of your closest friends.
Lack of rule enforcement- if the rules say 8-9pm is adult time in the pool, I shouldn't be the one to enforce it.

All in all, I might go again but probably on a less busy weekend or during the week.

Room Tip: I am not sure if you can choose your site upon check in, but next time I would ask for 99 or 100 in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Sites aren't paved or level. You have to pay extra for Internet. At $55 a site, it should be included. They do have amenities we didn't use..like an indoor pool and laundromat.

It was hard to back in to our site. It's very shady so that was nice. It was convenient to the mountain.it's a pretty place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We rented a "primitive" site, which is basically a nice spot in the woods to park your car and pitch your tent. We liked our spot better than the RV spots because there was more privacy, and our floor was not gravel. The fire pits are moveable so you can arrange your site just how you like it. Potable water was a few steps away and clearly labeled, and the restrooms and pool areas were very clean. The rec room is a bit dated but everything works just fine. The ladies at registration were super helpful when we told them we were first timers, and we liked the secured entrances for the amenities. The trails are unlabeled which may appeal to some, and with a park map in hand its nearly impossible to get lost. Up the road a mile or so is a friendly and well stocked grocer, and Sandy is about 13 miles west and offers everything from the Dollar Store to fine wine tastings. We have rented other primitive sites in national parks for $20 and up that did not include free showers, a pool, rec and workout rooms, saunas, an on-site convenince store, manicured trails, playground and more. The $25 nightly we spent here has set a new bar for our family of five.

Room Tip: The week days are a little quieter, but the weekends offer activiteis for both young and old, like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the Mt. Hood Village RV Resort late in the afternoon and were greeted by Lynn at the reception center. She was great at processing our reservation and getting us to our site quickly. The resort sites are separated by trees and shrubbery so you don't feel you're on top of your neighbor. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and spa. The food at the Cafe was very good and the service was wonderful! There are also many trails to explore. This is a great base camp as you travel in and around the Mt. Hood area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in our motor home and loved it. The office staff is so helpful, especially Lynne, who helped us pick a private, woodsy spot. The bathrooms are clean, the showers are hot (no quarters needed) and the indoor pool was great for our grandson. The Cafe has wonderful food, as almost everything is homemade. We felt safe with the gate, bathroom and pool area all having a keypad. We enjoyed walking all the trails around the resort. Yes, there are some potholes in the roads, Mt Hood gets a lot of rain, but we had no problem navigating or parking our 28 foot RV.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Hood Village RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Hood Village RV Resort

Address: 65000 East Highway 26, Welches, OR 97067
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 436
Also Known As:
Mt Hood Village Rv Hotel Welches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Hood Village RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.