We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to see Mt Hood and Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Woods Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Whispering Woods Resort to your Saves list
Whispering Woods Resort
67800 East Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great spot to see Mt Hood and Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We are still at Whispering Woods and are very pleased with the accommodations. The grounds are woodsy and inviting. Property is very clean and well kept. The resort is quiet and very relaxing. It's a great base camp for trips to Mt Hood and Portland. We have a beautiful large outdoor deck with a grill and beautiful view. The unit is very clean, well stocked, and roomy. We asked for propane tank to be refilled and it was done within minutes. We had room to entertain family and the heated pool is a plus. Deer occasionally walk along the road. Nothing like having coffee out on the deck while being nestled in the woods. We are extremely pleased with this resort and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It seems that all units have very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prospect Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. We made breakfast and a few home cooked dinners in the full kitchen and made use of the grill. The staff is knowledgable friendly and upbeat. Salmon creek was a short walk from the property. The sofa, mattress, and pillows were not very comfortable but it is not home. The water pressure was better in the kitchen than the shower. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We recently completed a one week stay in a top floor, 2 bdrm/2 bath unit using an exchange through our home resort club, from Interval International. The unit was clean, well-equipped and nicely laid out. The double/queen beds were comfy as were other furnishings. The unit's living room windows were very large, floor-to-ceiling style allowing lots of light overlooking the patio and golf course. The patio/deck had an outside table/chairs and a working BBQ.

The resort is equipped with a reasonably sized swimming pool and one hot tub. The fitness room is a simple but useful affair with a recumbent bike, running machine and strider unit. It also has also has a universal gym. Staff are friendly, helpful and respond promptly to any issues. For example, our BBQ wouldn't light but the maintenance man was there in a shot and fixed it right away.

The resort is an older one, and it shows in some places. I would suggest a simple power washing of stairs, roofs and siding to eliminate areas of moss build-up. This cosmetic effort would increase the appeal of the property. One point to be aware of; there are no elevators to upper floor units. This is not an issue for us but for the elderly or infirm, it would be.

Room Tip: The top floor, corner unit worked well for us. We'll try for this type of unit when we return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent a week at Whispering Woods the week before spring break. What a lovely and enjoyable place to be. The pool was heated to 84º making it useable and the hot tub was extremely comfortable. The staff must be commended, including each employee in their various positions, for being the friendliest possible. I have never stayed any place where the staff was more courteous than at Whispering Woods. They will provide information on anything you need. The resort also has a nice workout room as well as a comfortable and welcoming main lodge.
I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My family has stayed here several times, courtesy of friends who are time share owners. We love it.
The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful. They are eager to point out all the amenities and answer questions.
The clubhouse area is great for the kids if weather prevents us from doing what we like best, which is skiing. The heated pool, hot tub, DVDs and game library are a hit every time. There are also some great walks around the property and down to the Salmon River.
The units have always been clean and in good repair. We stay in a 2 bedroom unit that easily sleeps 8. The kitchen is well stocked, as are the two full baths. There are lots of extra towels which is helpful for a large active family. Occasionally something will be missing. Last time it was sheets for the hideaway bed. We borrowed from neighbors as the clubhouse was closed, and the office rectified it in the morning.
Another great feature is the wood burning stove. But remember to bring your own fire starter as that's not provided, though copious amounts of wood are.
Finally, it's quite convenient to Government Camp and the ski resorts. We've never stayed in GC so I can't compare, bit it sure beats driving all the way home to Portland and makes it possible to catch the first chair at Timberline without having to get up early.
I've no doubt we'll be back.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I exchanged a week of our resort for a week at Whispering Woods. We stayed in a 2 bedroom loft condo and were very pleased with our unit. The unit was very clean, the Kitchen was well equipped, the furniture was comfortable and the beds provided for a good nights sleep. The staff was very friendly and courteous and provided what we needed for a pleasant stay. The coffee maker in our condo didn't work and upon taking it to the desk, they replaced it with a brand new one. The resort is very close to Mt. Hood and a trip to Timberline Lodge is a must see. There are a number of good eating establishments in the area. You will find I have reviewed 2 of them that we feel are very good. Most of all, it was a great place to relax and step away from the world for awhile. Bring a good book, some soft music and just cuddle on the couch by the wood stove and enjoy a great week. We definitely play on going back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is the second year we spent Thanksgiving here at Whispering Woods. The units are fully equipped to cook a full-up Thanksgiving Feast (even had a hand mixer). The resort itself is nestled in the woods and very quite especially this time of year. The resort has a small "heated" pool and a small but very functional fitness room (everything was clean and worked well). This is not the Ritz but has its own charm and all the staff we met were very nice. We love the location for easy access to Mt Hood and there is countless hiking trials within a 10 mile drive. We are thankful for much, spending family time away from the hustle and bustle of the city is truly a blessing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Resort

Address: 67800 East Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With world-famous Mt. Hood only minutes away, Whispering Woods Resort offers you and your family the best in accommodations, relaxation and fun. You can ski in one of Oregon’s finest and most highly rated ski areas or enjoy the many activities within the surrounding area of Welches, Oregon. Whispering Woods Resort in Oregon isn’t just for outdoor adrenalin junkies. It’s also perfect for a relaxing family getaway, mountain wedding or business retreat. And when you’re ready to kick back and recharge your batteries, a well appointed one or two bedroom condominium awaits, complete with kitchen, dining room, and patio or deck. In addition to Mother Nature’s attractions, you’ll also find a heated swimming pool and spa, tennis courts and clubhouse with hot tub, sauna, and big screen TV. So come check out all Oregon has to offer at Whispering Woods Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Whispering Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Welches
Whispering Wood Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Woods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.