We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fancy, but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Whispering Woods Resort to your Saves list
Whispering Woods Resort
67800 East Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Martinsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Not Fancy, but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Whispering Pines Resort is tucked away in the woods along a golf course in Welches Oregon in the shadows of Mt Hood. It's about an hour from Portland, 4 hours from Crater Lake and the Pacific coast so it was easy for us to see a lot of Oregon from this base camp. We drove back into Portland to go to the Saturday Market, visit Powell's Book Store and just experience the town that has a slogan of "Keep Portland Weird" which they shouldn't have any trouble doing. Great food and beer in Portland. Be sure to take a day and drive from Welches to Troutdale and then head east on the Historic Columbia River Gorge Highway with stops at Crown Point Vista House for fantastic views of the Gorge, Multnomah Falls and Hood River to see the wind surfers. We took a whole day to do the loop which included a stop to have a late lunch with an old friend at Timberline Lodge while overlooking Mt Hood on a remarkably clear day in September. The resort has been around for awhile, but is comfortably appointed. Check in/out was easy. There is a nice heated pool. We had a maintenance issue with holes in our screens that were fixed right away. We were on the third floor and there are no elevators so beware if you have trouble with steps. Welches has a grocery store, a gas station and a few other stores, but no pharmacy. So if you need anything more than a aspirin or Benedryl, you have to go to Sandy which is about 20 minutes back toward Portland. There is not a lot of night life in Welches, but we found Zig Zag Inn had a great dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Whispering Woods Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback including some great suggestions for area activities. We are glad you enjoyed the resort accommodations. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westboro, Ma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The deer came by to let us know they were around. Our 2 bedroom with loft unit was along one of the golf greens from the neighboring resort. While we were not allowed to walk on it, it was a pleasant view and mostly quiet except for an occasional golf cart motoring by. We were very pleased with the fully equipped unit. We used it as a base for touring the Mt. Hood area. Several very nice restaurants were close by as was a small shopping center. However for a more major shopping, journey out to Sandy or Gresham. It will cost you less. Since we were there over Labor Day, we used one day to just hang out and relax. We even used the grill one night. The swimming pool was open but we never found the time to use it. The beds were very comfy. It was a very quiet area which was just what we were looking for and were very happy that a week came thru for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This property is essentially a timeshare trade/getaway that also rents apartments for non-members. This is not a resort with spa treatments but a wonderful apartment complex with a pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The staff is 5+ and couldn't be more helpful. If Sandy is doing an area briefing, take advantage of it. The information is valuable and made our trip even more enjoyable. She has great tips you'll want to follow!
The apartment was just fine and has a fully stocked kitchen with all you need to cook meals. A big plus is the huge patio that comes with each unit where you can eat outside or just sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. I suggest you ask for a top floor but only if you're willing to walk up three flights of stairs (no elevators!).
The only negative as you will read from other reviews is lack of air conditioning. The box fans are okay at night but it did get warm. I asked for an apartment with ceiling fans but phase II does not have any. With the weather getting cooler, right now through September is probably perfect temperatures at night and during the day.
We loved staying there (inspite of no airconditioning) and plan to return with our son and his young family. We checked out the two bedroom loft and it's hugs. Only problem with those is they're directly on the golf course with no trees to camaflouge.
The apartment was very clean and we got all the towels we requested plus I wanted new pillows and had now trouble getting them.
I can recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you're willing to walk 3 flights of stairs, ask for B5. This unit has very large patio (more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've stayed in much fancier digs, but I tip my hat to the management at Whispering Woods, which deftly handled a problem that occurred during our stay. Crayons inadvertently left inside the washer/dryer, apparently by the previous guests, ruined an entire load of our laundry. The management promptly responded to the unit, and offered to reimburse us for the clothing, asking only that we email or fax them an itemized list with the approximate value of each item. Within a few days of my return home, I received a check with another sincere apology note. The maintenance staff also responded with equal swiftness when I called about a slow bathroom sink drain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was great. We had everything we needed, from cooking utensils to washer/dryer. We were close to Mt. Hood and within easy driving distance to many attractions. We enjoyed the walking trail which took us to Salmon River. We saw a mommy deer and her baby daily right outside our room. Make sure you visit the waterfalls in the area. The Welcome session on Tuesday morning provide excellent information on the local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLYMPIA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in a 2-bedroom condo unit on the top floor at Whispering Woods, Welches Oregon. The resort is located in a peaceful setting on a golf course. Clean, fully equipped units with gas BBQ -- we enjoyed cooking out on the balcony. Check in was easy and friendly staff provided extra propane tank right away (it was low when we cooked the first night). Our only complaint was the unit did not have any air conditioner, which would have been nice during the 80+ temperatures. We did have several box fans that we used at night to help cool things down --tip: keep windows and shades closed until the sun goes down. There are several good restaurants nearby and we would recommend the Rendezvous for dinner -- good food and great selection of local wines. Went up to Mt. Hood and toured the historic Timberline Lodge – spectacular views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I scheduled an overnight stay at this resort and prepaid for it. When I arrived at 4pm (check in time). The staff were courtesy and friendly. I didn't quite understand that the word 'resort' is a bit different than what I was expecting. These are small individual condo's spread out on a property. There is no restaurant. There is no bar. There is no common meeting room to visit. There is a pool. My main gripe was that my 2 bedroom condo didn't have a ceiling fan or regular fan. It didn't have A/C. When you look inside their condo manual they instruct the guest to open your windows and doors to let it cool off. The only problem with this is that it was in the upper 70's to lower 80's outside. I am from the South. We are use to A/C. I went to the front desk and politely declined the room due to lack of A/C or fans. They told me that the room was non-refundable even though they said business had been very good of late and it was still time to resell the room. I understand that if you're told a room is non-refundable, its non-refundable; however, MOST places in the U.S. have A/C. A/C isn't a luxury. It's a mandatory item. They don't even have fans to move the air around in case its warm. This should be CLEARLY spelled out on the website. If you're wondering why the 'resort' is cheaper than the resort right next to it, now you know why.

Room Tip: If you like economical and don't mind the lack of amenities or A/C. this place is a good choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Resort

Address: 67800 East Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With world-famous Mt. Hood only minutes away, Whispering Woods Resort offers you and your family the best in accommodations, relaxation and fun. You can ski in one of Oregon’s finest and most highly rated ski areas or enjoy the many activities within the surrounding area of Welches, Oregon. Whispering Woods Resort in Oregon isn’t just for outdoor adrenalin junkies. It’s also perfect for a relaxing family getaway, mountain wedding or business retreat. And when you’re ready to kick back and recharge your batteries, a well appointed one or two bedroom condominium awaits, complete with kitchen, dining room, and patio or deck. In addition to Mother Nature’s attractions, you’ll also find a heated swimming pool and spa, tennis courts and clubhouse with hot tub, sauna, and big screen TV. So come check out all Oregon has to offer at Whispering Woods Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Whispering Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Welches
Whispering Wood Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Woods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.