We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beatiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Hood National Forest

Mount Hood National Forest
65000 East Highway 26, Welches, OR 97067
503 622 7674
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mount Hood National Forest like an insider
Top Rated
$215*
and up
Mt Hood Snowshoe Adventure from Portland
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Welches
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Mountaineering, White-water rafting, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic area that extends south from scenic Columbia River Gorge across more than sixty miles of forested mountains, lakes and streams.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beatiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Beautiful views in so many ways - mountains, trees, rivers, and lakes! Would love to spend more time here enjoying all the hiking options too!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    11
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

So many things to do! We did alot of off trail hiking to do wild mushroom hunting. Chanterell were everywhere! Great fishing at Trillium and Clear Lakes. Lots of trails and campgrounds.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More than Enough to Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The beauty alone will take your breath away. There are many option for most people ranging from skiing, snowboarding, hiking, camping, etc. Many nice trails and great campsites.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still Creek Campground”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a review of a specific campground within the MHNF. I celebrated my birthday this year at this campground and I found it to be a huge disappointment.
1) The campground is overrun with bees. My nephew accidentally got too close to a hive and got stung 8 times. The rest of the trip they swarmed his site. My own site was not much better. The minute any kind of food was brought out, the bees were there. Yes, there are going to be bees sometimes, but this was way over the top and we talked to several campers and locals who said the amount of them was out of the ordinary.
2) The bathrooms were awful. Normally I don't mind vault toilets, but these were absolutely gross. They weren't all that dirty, but the room itself was so tiny that there was no where for the smell to go, so it was 10 times smellier than going in a normal sized vault toilet, where usually the room is quite large to accommodate air flow and people of every size.
3) The camp hosts didn't stay in the camp, and I only saw them once. They claimed they were in site 1, but it was rented out. We found out later that they were staying at the neighboring Trillium campground, which meant that we had to drive over if we needed extra wood or parking passes.
4) The website claims that each campsite holds 1-2 tents. Most sites I saw would accommodate up to 6-7 tents. They were huge, each with several clearings for multiple tents! This is great for people that are in the know, but we spent almost $50 extra on another site when we didn't need to.
Overall, a really disappointing trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
1,114 reviews 1,114 reviews
218 attraction reviews
Reviews in 210 cities Reviews in 210 cities
550 helpful votes 550 helpful votes
“This is such a beautiful place, winter or summer there is nothing like it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Winter time this is the ski Mecca
Cross country. here at the base or of course To the lodge at the top of Mount Hood for the downhill skiing
The lodge was built by cc camps during the Great Depression.
Many Lakes for camping fishing and enjoying the outdoors.
Great restaurants up here, and the beautiful Welches Resort at the mountain golf course and great food for this whom camping is a small condo.
Late summer is absolutely beautiful up here coloring just preparing to change for fall.
Spent many years up here skiing in the winter and out door
Enjoyment in the summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Hood National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Mount Hood National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Hood National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.