We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at The Mountain

Save Saved
You added The Resort at The Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Resort at The Mountain
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   68010 E. Fairway Avenue, Mt Hood Golf Resort, Welches, OR 97067-9706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Select Dates from $99
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Welches
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is great for golf enthusiasts, and hold promise for families looking for other sports amenities. There are tennis courts, volleyball/badminton sand pit, a playground was under construction, and their activities desk held bikes for loan. Unfortunately, most of these were not in use when we were there, so it seemed like only golfers used the resort. Food is great. We stayed in one of the King bedroom suites. Magnificent view, tranquil and clean.

Room Tip: If you have the money, splurge on a King suite. The views and spaciousness is worth triple the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, General Manager at The Resort at The Mountain, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, and for taking time to provide your recommendations. We are looking forward to having many guests this weekend for the holiday before the school year begins.

Sincerely,

John A Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    123
    34
    24
    15
See reviews for
139
240
13
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went to the wedding of a friend's daughter up on Mt Hood, OR. We - and most of the wedding guests - stayed at The Resort at the Mountain and found it delightful.

(The wedding itself was up higher - about 3,400 feet elevation, under the glaciers on Mt Hood at the marvelous Timberline Lodge, a WPA project from the '30s. Some stayed there instead, but we were told the rooms were larger at The Resort and the welcome reception, after wedding dinner party, and next morning breakfast were all at The Resort. The parents of the bride even provided busses to take us all up to Timberline for the wedding and dinner - and back again afterwards - so who were we to argue. Both the choice of wedding location - and wedding dinner! - at Timberline and lodgings at The Resort were spot on, in our opinion.)

The name isn't some ad agency's fancy. The resort is built on the site of a previous resort from the past - 1888 i think was the date; the name is to honor (and take advantage of) that.

There's golf, tennis courts and all that. On those days that are sunny (all, while we were there, but not enough annually to lure us to one of the condos on the property) the Resort is just beautiful and very relaxing. We had breakfasts at the pub overlooking the grass to the first tee (Mallard's) and were delighted with it. The view was lovely, the food and service fine. We ordered off the menu Saturday morning and did the buffet on Sunday and were quite satisfied.

In summer the wait staff is pretty young - summer jobs and all - but most all were engaging and very attentive.

The rooms are in separate two story buildings around the central grounds and pool. Rooms have patios or balconies off the backs. While you're on the low flanks of the mountain, you're really only about 1400 feet elevation so weather isn't all that different from Portland which is around an hour below. There was a nice easy chair in the room in addition to the desk and of course a couple chairs and small table out on the baloney.

Bathroom was fine - a rainforest shower head was great (and nice being in a wet part of the country where taking a shower didn't bring any built feelings along with).

There's a more upscale restaurant but we didn't eat there - ate in nearby Rhododendron (out to the highway, turn left a mile) instead, that first night, at the wedding dinner the next, so can't testify to the restaurant on site.

For a relaxing place to stay, The Resort at the Mountain would be a really good choice. We'd be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, General Manager at The Resort at The Mountain, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to let others know of your enjoyable stay at The Resort. We appreciate your generous comments, and your recommendation.

Sincerely,

John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good price, pretty good place. Unbelievably expensive charges for food (and not so great) and HIDDEN costs for group meetings such as family reunions. Think twice before making group reservations. We were not made aware of hidden food costs until the credit card bill arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwabisch Hall, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Staying at the Resort was a relaxing experience. Sitting in the woods in a quiet area makes it easy to calm down. Stuff is friendly, food is good. Breakfast could be a bit better.
The environment around Mt. Hood with many possiblities for hiking on several trails made it a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: They help you at the front desk with a plan, just tell them what is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, General Manager at The Resort at The Mountain, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recognition of the staff's interest in your stay, and your needs. The time you spent with us sounded very enjoyable. Thank you for taking your time to provide your appreciation.

Best Regards,
John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were there in August for a wedding venue The resort had with lovely vistas and great staff at the wedding. Too bad front check in staff not to helpful or prompt. The front staff excuse for everything was the hotel was full. If many people receive service like that at check in the hotel will not stay full.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, General Manager at The Resort at The Mountain, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking time to provide us with your impressions.

Sincerely,
John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I would recommend this resort, I did not have any bad experience. Food was good, staff was friendly and knowledgeable, resort is driving distance from many other activities and attractions, overall good location. Only complain is the room lighting - not enough light for a woman trying to get dressed up and ready for a wedding.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable walking distance from all other amenities. I would also inquire about room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, General Manager at The Resort at The Mountain, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your referral and recommendation. We appreciate you taking time to provide your evaluation. We are addressing your suggestion immediately.

Sincerely,

John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm not sure which rooms other reviewers were staying in, or what their idea of a resort is, but we found Resort at the Mountain to be a relaxing and fun spot. Our room was spacious and appropriately decorated, with a comfy bed. Everyone from the front desk to the waitstaff to housekeeping were friendly and accommodating. True, it is not a modern condo village and country club type resort - it has more of an "old school" feel - but, it doesn't have the snooty staff and clientele that you often find at those resorts, either. The putting course was fun and a great way to prepare for the next day's golf game. Our only disappointment was that the pool was closed the first few days we were there. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, General Manager at The Resort at The Mountain, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your honest feedback and recommendations. Our pool is in wonderful condition again. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Resort at The Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at The Mountain

Address: 68010 E. Fairway Avenue, Mt Hood Golf Resort, Welches, OR 97067-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Resort at The Mountain 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the western highlands of Mt. Hood less than an hour above Portland, The Resort at The Mountain is a premier Oregon golf, ski & meeting resort. With a unique ambiance, exceptional service, and the natural beauty of national forests and clear running streams, The Resort offers a wonderful array of experiences for couples, families, outdoor enthusiasts and meeting or event groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Resort at The Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At The Mountain Hotel Welches
Hotel At The Mountain
Resort At The Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at The Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.