We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for a get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6823 Highway 8, PO Box 1240, Warm Springs, OR 97761 (Formerly Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Warm Springs
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A good place for a get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

I spent two nights recently at Kahneeta for a work-related function, and I really enjoyed myself. My room (with a King-sized bed) was small, but cleverly appointed so that everything fit well. One wall of the room was glass (with a door to the balcony), and I loved watching the landscape change and particularly the sunrises. Everything was clean, tidy, and well-decorated. I did notice that the walls were somewhat thin, but it wasn't a huge problem(it never kept me awake). The staff were completely and utterly helpful and friendly. The food varied from just fine to quite good but never outstanding (except maybe for the homemade huckleberry jam). I went on a beautiful hike. The atmosphere is quiet and sort of serene (more like a spa?) and if you are looking for excitement and nightlife, this is probably not the place. On the other had, if you are looking for rest, relaxation, exercise (golf, horseback riding, hiking, rafting, fishing, etc), and beautiful scenery, it's all great. Also, it's definitely remote--there's very little besides the resort for 25 miles or so, but that was just fine with me.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    55
    40
    48
See reviews for
98
70
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

Rooms were large (we stayed in King King room) with great view. Disappointing is how far away everything is and that this facility can not be classified as a resort. All public traffic areas (lobby, stairs, bathrooms, exercise room, pool area) were dirty and neglected. The restaurant with buffet was filled with flies landing on the tables and buffet food - extremely overpriced and food was mediocre. In order to eat anywhere else, you have to drive 25 minutes into town. Inconsistent service and each person at the Front Desk charged differently. We just waited until "the nice girl" was working. Wouldn't return to Kahneeta if they offered to pay for everything and flew me in.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warm Springs hotels

Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2005

Went to Kah-Nee-Ta for the first time this weekend. The staff was excellent, the buffet was a bit over priced, but the food was good. The casino was fun but there wasn't a non-smoking section. The hotspring pools was fun, and the water slide was fun. The room was nicely decorated, and a good size. The view was wonderful. The walls were thin! We could hear the people next door having a conversation, and when the maid came into their room to vacuum, it sounded like she was in my room! It was a nice place to go, honestly don't think I will return.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2004

We stayed here for 3 nights in a standard room in 2002, but it was pleasant, clean, modern and had a lovely balcony with great views. The buffet restaurant had a fixed price, but there was plenty of choice and the quality was very good. Only one little thing.... the native music played in the restaurant was somewhat bone-chilling which brought shivers to my spine. And it never stopped!
Also we experienced a staff member at the 'mongolean bbq' being totally pissed out of his mind. Funny enough, he DID prepare the food well!
We also went to the warm springs pool, great place, and we did the so-called strenuous hike, which was not so very strenuous after all. Just the bit of scrambeling down might have been a little tough, but the views on top of the mesa were unsurpassed.
All in all, great place to relax and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2004

We went to Kahneeta for the first time with our 5 year old daughter for a long weekend. Our rooms were ready upon arrival and we were greeted by friendly personnel, as a matter of fact EVERYBODY that we encountered at this resort was extremely friendly and the service was excellent. Our room was nicely decorated and clean with a balcony. Our view was of the surrounding hills, very peaceful. You can also rent movies at the front desk for yourself or the kids.
We ate at the Seafood Buffet, breakfast and Sunday brunch buffets, they were all excellent.
There are so many activities. We caught the free shuttle down to the mineral pool in the village, played miniature golf, hiked on the trails surrounding the lodge and swam in the pool at the lodge. The Salmon Bake was wonderful as well, good food and traditional dancing performed by local children and adults.
The casino is upstairs, attached to the lodge. It's big enough to have a wide variety of slots, blackjack and poker and small enough that the dealers remember you from the night before.
We really felt comfortable in Kahneeta it has a great atmosphere. We hope to return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2004

The casino and restaurant are great. The lounge and rooms aren't the best, but if you want to get away from civilization and lay out by the pool, this is one of the best places to do it. Much warmer than Portland in the summer. Beware, colder in the winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2002

I have been going to Kah-Nee-Tah since I was a child. It has changed a lot in 20 years! It is wonderful!! We have gone in Febuary, March, April & September and it has been perfect each time. We like to bring our travel trailer and camp. I have been many places all over the world but this is a place I always enjoy going back to. It is the best keep secret!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa

Address: 6823 Highway 8, PO Box 1240, Warm Springs, OR 97761 (Formerly Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort & Casino)
Location: United States > Oregon > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort and Spa offers a variety of accommodations from suites and private view balcony rooms in the Lodge to Village suites and teepees and even a full-service RV Park. Every option is close to all the fun and diverse activities available at Kah-Nee-Ta.Kah-Nee-Ta Village was completed in 1964 and named for the Indian woman Xnitla, "Root Digger" who had owned the property. Xnitla was a scout and spiritual leader who used the natural hot springs and indigenous plants and roots for medicinal purposes and religious ceremonies. The Lodge and Convention Center opened in 1972Kah-Nee-Ta Resort is located on the 600,000+ Sq Acre Warm Springs Indian Reservation. It is owned and operated by the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs. The Warm Springs Reservation was established by The Treaty of 1855 on a small reserve of land where our ancestors lived for thousands of years. In 1937 the Wasco, Paiute and Warm Springs Tribes organized as the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and became a sovereign, self-governing nation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Hotel Warm Springs
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort And Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.