We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soul Vacation Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alsi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alsi Resort to your Saves list
Alsi Resort
2.0 of 5 Spa   |   902 NW Bayshore Dr., Hwy 101, Exit W. on Bayshore, Waldport, OR 97394 (Formerly Waldport Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Soul Vacation Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here here 8/16/2012 to 8/18/2012. Room was just average. no real view from room on second floor. We decided to head out on 8/17 and head up north to Newport, Depot Bay and Lincoln city. Debated about leaving our safe in room while we spent the day enjoying the coast. I had a thought at last minute that this might not be a good idea ! I was right ! when we returned later that evening we found that the cleaning staff had left brass security lock wedged in between door so ANYONE could have been able to go in and out with out the need of a key card !!! Fortunatly we took most things of value with us and it appeared what we did leave in room had not been messed with as far as we could tell. We reported it to the front desk and they said they would look into it ???? We had also stayed at this same place beffore a couple years back when it was Waldport Beach Resort and had more of a view of the waldport bay bridge and better security and follow up to see how we enjoyed our stay ! I am writing this review as when we checked in at front desk there was a paper on desk asking people to reviw stays on trip advisor. Customer service was non existant plus there was no refridgerator in room, no micro wave in fact all there was was coffee maker and ice bucket didn't even see vending machine for bevorages. Did have an in room safe available for extra cost ! Also as we were getting ready to check out at 11;00 a.m about 10;45am they called us in room as asked if we were going to be checking out ! We told them we had everything on cart and was haeding down felt like we were being shoved out the door ! Wouldn't stay there again ! probably rated them a extra star too high for way we were treated all around !
Rest of trip was a lot of FUN ! caught depot Bay's Pirate days ! got some good pictures of people in costumes and cannon's firing and pistils and rifels. Also had fun at Tanger outlet in Lincoln city and found some very good deals. As well as newport antique mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    24
    9
    21
See reviews for
32
21
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed this past Saturday night. Upon checking in all that was asked was were we with the wedding? Well, the wedding was two doors down from our room. Quite noisy until about 10:00. If we were informed about the wedding we would not have been so suprised about the guests all over the halls and the noise.. also the shower rod was broken, room very.. humid and our main view was a maintenance? Room or pump house and a parked rv. Upon checking out , I wasn't even asked How was our stay? In fact he didn't say or ask me anything. So. I didn't volunteer anything. The room didn't even have a booklet with any info on the resort as All hotels do..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very clean. Room had some 5 star touches that made it very comfortable. Management and staff very accommodating and made sure guests were happy. Didn't have an opportunity to eat in the on-site, upscale restaurant but looking at the menu the prices were not too bad for the items listed. If you have kids though, you’ll have to special request food items or select from the appetizer menu. Great location… quiet.

Room Tip: There are pool-side rooms that you could request. Higher floors will have views of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was a WONDERFUL alternative to the concrete jungle and madness of Newport, and just a short, easy drive to the Oregon Coast Aquarium. I chose it because it was so affordable, probably because it is a little off the beaten path, but we couldn't have been happier with the location and its charm. No, it wasn't perfect in every aspect... no fridge or microwave in the room, and I was disappointed there was no hot tub in the pool area (my personal preference for while the kids swim). But our room was beautiful and VERY clean, the towels were thick and soft, the sheets smelled good, and the bathroom sparkled. Gorgeous view of the pool and the Bay, easy access to explore the shore- heaven for the kids. Every member of the staff we encountered was super nice and very helpful. Thrilled they offered me a 10% military discount. We had to be creative about packing snacks and stocking a cooler with some basics, but it was well worth it to stay in such a nice location. Heard the restaurant was exceptional but we didn't take the wild bunch there... maybe next time. Overall, we will definitely stay there again! Took this trip on short notice and expanded my search to Waldport when everything in the cheap cookie-cutter places in Newport were booked; now we're so glad it worked out the way it did!

Room Tip: Spend that little extra to get the view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband, our two boys (6yrs &16mos) and I stayed here 7/28/12. Being a two star "resort" i thought id give it a shot considering it was on average $50 less than the others in the area.

I wouldn't consider this a resort but It was CLEAN, the staff was very FRIENDLY, the (who i assume were the owners) were welcoming. The pool was nice and warm! The beds were clean and comfy!

We didnt have a view of the Alsea Bay Bridge but thats ok- we can walk outside and see it all! Its very close to the beach and a short, scenic drive to Newport.

So if your just looking for somewhere to stay at a good rate, this is it! I would stay here again.

Overall a great experience, and for the record i'm pretty picky.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Bay I would request it in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We ended up here as we could not find any other hotel. It is located off the highway and near the ocean. The outside looks very grand. It advertises yoga classes upon entering and its a good thing! The beds were horrible! They are like sleeping in a clam shell. The box springs sit on the floor and the mattress is sagged out. There were also long , dark hairs in the towels! They are friendly enough but need to work on their accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver, oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is the second review i have written since it looks like my other one got pulled for some reason. This place was bad and please believe the other bad reviews on this website. I have to believe the other glowing reviews are planted. I experienced the same issues as some of the other poor reviews. I booked a room with 2 queen beds and when i walked into the room after checking in it looked like they had pulled one bed out and the room only had 1 bed. Kids were screaming in the room across the hall and it was loud!! My wife and i had only been in the room a few minutes when we decided to leave and walked back down to the desk and turned our keys in and left. The hotel refused to give a full refund and we had to fight to get 30 dollars even though they didnt give us the room we reserved in the first place. Take my advice and go down the road to someplace else.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsi Resort

Address: 902 NW Bayshore Dr., Hwy 101, Exit W. on Bayshore, Waldport, OR 97394 (Formerly Waldport Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alsi Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsi Resort is an 80 room hotel is a beachfront resort on the Alsea Bay, a short walk from the pacific Ocean, with beautiful bay and bridge views looking into the coastal mountain range of the central Oregon Coast. Harbor seals and bald eagles can be seen, close to crabbing and clamming areas of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Alsi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soul Vacation Hotel Waldport
Waldport Beach Hotel
Howard Johnson Waldport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.