We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic stay and we'll be back before the year is over!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alsi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alsi Resort to your Saves list
Alsi Resort
2.0 of 5 Spa   |   902 NW Bayshore Dr., Hwy 101, Exit W. on Bayshore, Waldport, OR 97394 (Formerly Waldport Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a fantastic stay and we'll be back before the year is over!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel was spectacular and we got our room for a great price. There were four of us, and we fit comfortably (cozily) in one of their basic rooms with 2 beds. We had a riverfront view (beautiful), a close river beach perfect for skipping stones, 7-10 minute walk to the ocean/beach, and an INCREDIBLE 5 star restaurant downstairs in the hotel. The food was extremely high quality (appetizers, salad/soup, main course, dessert) and they have many wine selections for great prices to try by the taste, 1/2 glass, full glass, or bottle.

The basic rooms are relatively small but cozy, clean, modern (remodeled) and functioning. The hotel is up-and-coming and deserves a lot of attention - it is a wonderful place to stay, and had a great energy. The staff were all very nice and helpful.

There is also a heated pool (we did not have a chance to use it but saw people, including children, using it).

We also found a discount on their website (if you called in and were one of the first 25 people in the morning, you got $10 off a night).

They also had a great lounge with live music, two flat screen tv's, and a great bar. The lounge/bar area was attached to the restaurant, so the restaurant got to enjoy the live music as well.

This would be great for a get-away, a family vacation, or a solo adventure.

We have already started to recommending this hotel to friends and family and we plan to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, General Manager at Alsi Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We would like to thank you for partaking in the delicous offerings at Rumi, our restaurant and recognising the talent that makes a well designed dining experience possible. The Lounge at Rumi is so warm and inviting we are glad you felt comfortable and enjoyed yourself, as this is our mission. Your observations are very much appreciated and thank you for noticing the value in the hotel stay. We are offering our rooms at very reasonable prices for brand new beds, soft new white linens, and a renovated property. We truly strive to listen to the requests of our guests and do all we can to accommodate you in any way we can. We so look forward to the opportunity of serving you, your friends and family as our honored guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    24
    9
    21
See reviews for
32
21
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

my wife and i were passing thru on business. found this, and thought we would stay. but after staying we just had to write a review.
the staff was friendly but the bathrooms and tubs were filthy in the rooms with pubic hair and grime in the tubs and on the back of the sink.
we had to call the front desk and get a room change and after looking the tub in the new room was grime free and it was late and we were tired so we took this second room. but we found after a closer look in the morning there with a long hairs in the tub and very grimy light switches i has to turn the lights on and off with my elbow.and you can hear every time a door opens in the hallway or someone talking. not a very restful nights sleep
we should have known when we had dinner that night at the on site restaurant ... poor food. over priced and small portions... i don't care if you drissel it with chocolate sauce or not... just make some good old fashion cooking at good prices! next time were staying here!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

The service was extremely rude and condisending! They even lied about what was in the hotel and around it. The room was very dirty, to the point of dirt smears on the towels in the bathroom, goo on the windows, and hair in the bed. Then to top it off the location of this so called resort, is in a peninsula away from food and attractions like the beach. The sand dunes in this peninsula are actually beginning to consume the houses on the ocean side. Many homes are already vacant or for sale. This is not a resort.. Simply an over priced stay on ones trip down the coast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We didn't want to stay in the urban area and Soul Resort provided us with that choice. The accomodations were very clean and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife had called to book our reservation, had asked specifically had asked them if their was a complimentary breakfast and they had told her yes only to find out they didn't. We originally booked a room that had a full kitchenette to only get a room that combined together with no microwave and fridge. The next morning I go downstairs and talk to the manager and she straightens out the problem and gave me a quote of $290. And instead I end up paying $343 for two rooms. And I had paid cash for these rooms to only have them charge me another $170 on my card. So beware of what you pay for my family and I will not be staying here again. I called the front desk and asked if they had the disney channel and they said they didn't know and hung up on me. Before I checked out they said their manager will call me back so we can work out the problems we had. I'm still waiting for the phone call 2 days later. Oh by the way watch the swimming pool it has some sharp edges in it and three of my kids got couple of punctures on their toes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the resort on the 3rd of July, after the hassle of booking the room (booked through a third party originally, only to call the hotel on the day we would check in to find out that the room we booked was not available, so we ended up booking a more expensive room directly with the hotel) we got to the resort and the room was not ready yet, so we went out and got some food for the evening to be brought back to our room. We got a call saying the room was ready. We got sent to the wrong room first. Once we finally made it to our room, we did not have a bay view even a partial one like we booked. Our view was of the parking lot :( There was no microwave or refrigerator in the room, and after asking about one we only were able to get a microwave. So I had to leave again to buy coolers and ice to put the perishable items in. The faucet and handles to the jaccuzi tub were loose. We could hear everything... over all we were sorely dissapointed with our stay. It was suppossed to be a relaxing getaway on our days off from work and what we got was more stress. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We had a wonderful mothers day at the Soul Vacation Resort in Waldport.
The view was fabulous and the room clean and comfortable. Beautiful tiled bathroom and cute deck going from our room to the beautiful lawn next to the bay.
We had mothers day dinner in the Rumi restaurant and it was amazing.
We will be back! Jen and Bill

Room Tip: room 145 was perfect for us and our small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsi Resort

Address: 902 NW Bayshore Dr., Hwy 101, Exit W. on Bayshore, Waldport, OR 97394 (Formerly Waldport Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alsi Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsi Resort is an 80 room hotel is a beachfront resort on the Alsea Bay, a short walk from the pacific Ocean, with beautiful bay and bridge views looking into the coastal mountain range of the central Oregon Coast. Harbor seals and bald eagles can be seen, close to crabbing and clamming areas of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alsi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soul Vacation Hotel Waldport
Waldport Beach Hotel
Howard Johnson Waldport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.