We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamie's Dockside Diner at Taylor's Landing - CLOSED

Jamie's Dockside Diner at Taylor's Landing
7164 East Alsea Highway, Mile Marker 7, Inside Taylor's Landing RV, Waldport, OR 97394
+1 541-528-3880
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Sandwiches, Family Fare, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: PERMANENTLY CLOSED Jamie's is a down home diner. Everything is cooked to order special for you. We welcome you to join us for breakfast & lunch in our incredible setting. We float on the Alsea River. Enjoy the sights of Salmon being reeled in. You might be lucky enough to spot a River Otter, Seal, Elk or Bald Eagle while enjoying a wonderful meal amongst good company. We also have a tackle, bait and convenience store on the dock with wine, beer & ice. Located on Hwy 34 at mile marker 7. Turn into Taylor's Landing RV & Marina, park in the grassy area and head down to the river to find us. Open Thurs - Mon 7:30am-3pm.
Alsea, Oregon, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kid friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food is very good, and it is kid friendly, we have a 18 month,7 & 9 year old! We love to eat there when we go to the beach. Sometime you see deer swimming across the river or an otter come to say hi.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    28
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family fun on the Alsea River!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a delight! Our large family of eight had a delicious lunch alongside the river this past weekend. Everything we ordered was wonderful-- the reuben sandwich was better than anything we've had in Portland's trendier places and the burger was excellent (devoured by eight year olds and parents alike). The view of the river was spectacular and we saw a herd of elk on the way there. I enjoyed the off-the-beaten path location-- look for the hand-painted signs that read 'Floating Diner' with arrows on the side of the road. The cook was so nice, making our two year old her egg and toast earlier than the rest of us to keep her happy. We loved chatting with the locals about the history of the diner, too. We will spread the word that Jamie's is top-notch and a real taste of small town Oregon hospitality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun: find your way to milepost 7 on highway 34 . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Agree with reviews mentioning this is not your typical diner on a floating dock in the Alsea River surrounded by salmon fishing . . . Proprietor Jamie Michel, along with her cook, were with the "once fabulous" Rumi in central Waldport. They are now running a wonderful breakfast and lunch diner, with a couple of splashy details that let you know their ambitions are chomping at the bit: black Marion berry cobbler (better than justly famous Mo's) with a hint of lemon, and lots of rich berry flavor. Or how about homemade corned beef piled high into a fantastic Reuben sandwich -- that could be served to great acclaim in downtown Chicago. We drove into the trailer park parking lot, followed signs to the dock-restaurant . . . And Jamie enthusiastically took us in, welcomed us, sat us down, and made us feel like we'd been to her place a dozen times. We will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My kids and I went to eat there, very clean in there, excellent food and excellent service. I will go back again. Very friendly atmosphere.

Michelle Nyhus

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I decided to give this place a try and glad i did. Its a very cool and unique place to get some good food with a little harmless small town gossip on the side.
The menu is simple with your basic diner fare. The food was fresh and delicious and cooked right in front of me as i sat up at the breakfast bar.
Being right on the river surrounded by wildlife and the quirky characters that try to hunt it is a thrill that i would compare to watching Deliverence. Thats where the owner Jamie balences everything out with her welcoming smile and sparkling city style personality.
Good times! Ill be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Dockside Diner at Taylor's Landing also viewed

 
Waldport, Oregon Coast
Waldport, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamie's Dockside Diner at Taylor's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.