We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood omlette is the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tippy Canoe Bar & Grill

Tippy Canoe Bar & Grill
28242 E Historical Columbia Hwy, Troutdale, OR 97060
503 618 9661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 49 Restaurants in Troutdale
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
usa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seafood omlette is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Shirley is a wonderful character, and puts heart and soul into this restaurant - and the best ingredients into the food! We make it a point to stop there on trips to the area. Coffee is served in heavy large mugs with pitchers of cream, the preserves are home-made, and it's a really nice place for quiet weekday mornings before touring the waterfalls.

Be forewarned, breakfast can be the price of a good dinner if you wish to indulge - but to us it's worth skipping dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Point, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Tippy Canoe Bar & Grill is located on Highway 30 along the Sandy River in Troutdale, Oregon. The atmosphere and staff are wonderful. You can eat in the bar or outside. The food is excellent and I guarantee you will not go away hungry. You can choose from full meals or just an appetizer. What ever your choice. The staff is warm and friendly and the owner Shirley is the type of person who just welcomes you in with open-arms. This was our 2nd visit and we will definitely go back again each time we are in the Troutdale area. We have been there as a family group and as just a couple. Each way works great. They are very family friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still my traveling favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I try to stop by this place when I'm in Portland on business. Never disappointed. Great location. Great outdoor area along the river.

Complaints would be its a little pricey so if I lived out here I couldn't make it a regular stop and at times, the service is a little slow. Luckily the scenery and atmosphere are awesome so if you aren't in a hurry, this is the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Loved the look of this classic roadhouse. Shirley's sign advertised "Just darn good food" and the fact they will be on Guy's "Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives" on the Food Network.
We had delicious grilled salmon and Pinot Noir sitting under tall fir trees. Service was slow but colorful. Shirley herself waited on us.
The show should air in August of this year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast, lunch or dinner or for a drink, Shirley's food is "darn good".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just a nice stop along the scenic Columbia River Gorge highway but well worth the stop. As the sign says the food is "darn good".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tippy Canoe Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tippy Canoe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tippy Canoe Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.