We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Vacation Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mini Vacation Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were so pleasantly suprised when we went to the hotel early in the morning (about 10:30am) to ask a question about our days activities and was asked if we would want to check in early. We were able to drop off our luggage and extra stuff so that it would not be unattended in the car all day.
Breakfast the next morning was just the ticket for a all day trek in the Columbia Gorge hiking.

Thank you for taking care of us!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    44
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
52
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The room was very clean and looked recently redecorated. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Price was reasonable. I would recommend to friends and family and would stay there again. Dairy Queen right outside front door of lobby.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend. It's a great location if you are looking to do some hiking (Columbia gorge area) or head into Portland for some dining/shopping, we did both. The staff was incredibly nice and friendly and the room was so comfy and very clean! I super loved the 1pm check out time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
That sounds like a perfect weekend - spring green Gorge, shopping, and good food - well done! : ).

I'm glad we gave you a comfortable and friendly place to come nestle back in to at the end of the full days, and , yes, the 1:00 checkout completely rocks, doesn't it?

We hope to have you back in the house soon, and thank you for making the time to write - it's appreciated.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I spent 7 nights in a king room. We thought the room was good sized. The bed was very comfy. The sink area is separate from the shower/toilet area so it made it easier getting ready in the mornings. The sink area had been remodeled with a granite counter. The housekeeping staff did a good job refreshing our room each day. The breakfast is your normal hotel breakfast - nothing too great but edible. The breakfast staff did a good job keeping the food well stocked and the area clean and organized. If we had neighbors in the room next to us, we didn't hear anyone but we did hear the people above us when they walked. You do hear train whistles several times each night. We liked coming back each evening and having freshly baked cookies available - it was a nice way to end the day. The front desk staff were friendly. We liked being outside the busy Portland area in this quieter area rather than being on a busy street but yet it was only a short drive into Portland. My only complaint is some maintenance issues: We opened our drapes and saw that the wallpaper had been stapled to the wall in what looks like a fix to a water leak, a wallpaper seam was peeling, some nails/bolts(?) showing in the ceiling, old/worn shower fixtures. Even with these maintenance issues, I would still stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for spending the week with us and for making the time to write and give us your feedback. I particularly appreciate getting your input on the daily housekeeping refresh, as that’s something I don’t have the opportunity to inspect, and guests rarely mention.

We have moved the remaining fixes on the eastside windows to the top of the list after you mentioned the issue in your room at checkout, and they’re in process now. We had all those windows replaced late last fall, and didn’t get all the cosmetics completed before winter, so have made it a priority now that spring is here and windows are opening again : ). Thank you for the bump, and for not letting that skew the overall positive of your stay.

We look forward to having you back, and hope that you thoroughly enjoy your spring into summer.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

And the end of a long day of driving through eastern Oregon, and through the Gorge, Comfort Inn in Troutdale was just what I needed. We had a king bed room bed was super comfy and I slept great. When I checked in they told me check out time was 1PM, Seriously 1PM!!!! That is the latest check out time I have ever seen at anywhere in the Choice family

Due to my choice rewards status, they provided free bottles of water (which were already chilled!!) and a choice of a goodie from their goodie basket, Very nice. Front desk staff was super friendly, energenic and very personable. She knows how to provide hospitality.

Hotel is close to the freeway, but I didnt hear much noise from the freeway, any major noise is from the neighboring airport, but wasn't an issue until the morning. Lots of shopping and food options nearby due to being near 2 major truckstops.

Breakfast was well stocked with many hot and cold options, and plenty of food available. Being it was still early spring the hotel was not super busy, but come summer months this place gets crazy busy. Needless to say I will be back when I am in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've stayed here frequently on business, and tonight I was on a personal trip, just returning home up the Gorge, when I was stranded by icy weather. The manager Loree was welcoming, warm, and so helpful. I've had a comfortable evening watching the Oscars in a quiet, very clean and comfortable room and am looking forward to their usual ample breakfast in it's a terrific small hotel all the same. Rates are economical, parking easy, wi-fi reception strong and free, and the refrig and microwave are always very helpful. In better weather the outdoor spa would be enjoyable. BTW, the Choice Privileges club is definitely worth signing up for and keeping current.

Room Tip: East side upstairs rooms have privacy even with curtains left open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Snow and ice caused major traffic jam on 205 north so had to stay in Troutdale where I work. Luckily there was a room available.

1) Service upon arrival was pleasant and quick. Even had fresh baked chocolate chip cookies
2) Given upgrade without asking.
3) Room very clean, organized and well appointed
4) I get up very early and even though the continental breakfast did not start for 1.5 hours the GM, Loree, was at the desk and was very gracious to offer to create a "to go" lunch bag with an apple, banana, orange, bagel, cream cheese, yogurt and muffin. Wow!

I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.