We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Northwest Graham Rd., Troutdale, OR 97060 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Central Wisconsin
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was the first night of our week's vacation that did not have a preplanned reservation. As a "walkin", we were very pleased with the outcome, as we usually do a little research beforehand, on potential lodging. We've learned to trust the Holiday Inn Express accomodations, and the rates are usually competitive. Due to road construction near the hotel's entrance, finding it was a little challenging. But once inside, we were rewarded by a friendy, knowledgeable, do-anything-I-can-to-help-you, front desk manager. She offered experienced advice about restaurants, tours, and routing for our next day's trip to the Columbia River Gorge. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet; we appreciated the breakfast offerings. Being able to briefly use the customers' computer was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
:) Thank you for the smile - we love where we live, and it's always a delight to get someone pointed in the right direction for a great day or wonderful food. Please do come back and see us again soon... we're still all of those good things, plus updated rooms with new everything, (and waffles... who doesn't love waffles?).

All the best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    41
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
49
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stopped here as a starting point for a tour of the Columbia Gorge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and in order. Breakfast was good, and even had a cheese omlet. Great location to start touring after leaving the Portland airport. They have an outdoor pool, but it is pretty small.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
So glad you got to come visit our beautiful Gorge - it's always wonderful when someone comes from so far away to spend time here. Most pleased that you like our hotel and we're jumping the hoops required to trade the spa out for an indoor pool just as fast as the powers-that-be will let us. :)

Hoping to see you again,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Awesome Staff. It's the extra things they do and provide that puts them at the top.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you. There is not one thing I would rather hear.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here while in the area for a wedding. The customer service in the hotel was absolutely fantastic! We arrived after camping along the coast for 8 days, we had a ton of laundry and wanted to get our clothes for the wedding dry cleaned. The front desk handled it all and even returned our clothes to our room when done. (I did not expect this at a Holiday Inn) The staff was courteous, helpful and friendly for the duration of our stay. The room was clean and what you would expect at a mid-range hotel. They have a complimentary breakfast each morning that was good with lots of choices and cookies and soup in the evening. I never tried the soup but the cookies were great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
The soup is good, too :)

Thank you for taking the time to write - everyone on staff works really hard to do whatever possible to make it a good place to come back to after the festivities of the day, and I'm glad that we were able to make the transition from coast to reception a little easier.

Hope to see you here again.

Best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel has great staff at it. The rooms seemed more dated than I anticipated, but we loved having 3 large beds for our family with teens. It was very clean and the location was perfect for travelling the Columbia River Gorge. Breakfast was great. First time I'd seen an automated pancake maker! They have guest laundry which came in very handy for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We're glad you like us, thank you! You'll be delighted to hear that we are beginning a full renovation of the guest rooms (floors, beds, furniture, televisions, and counter tops) and public spaces as we speak. We have scheduled the renovation carefully to ensure guests are not disrupted in the process, and everything will be shiny and new shortly. As our staff was already shiny, we're keeping them. :)

Look forward to seeing you soon,
Loree

Loree Harrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

All staff I talked to were very friendly and our small pekingnese was welcomed. The rooms were immaculate and the coolest thing was the unique folding of the towels. I used to manage motels so appreciate the little things.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
A good pekingese is always welcome. :) So glad you enjoyed our hotel, and, yes, we work very hard to keep the rooms spotless. Hope to see you again soon!

Best to you,
Loree

Loree Harrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Rooms were nothing special, had a roomsaver coupon for 59.99 stayed one night she only had one smoking room left, so she charged me 10 bucks more for that and on top of that it was another 10 bucks for taxes. So for 80 dollars i could of went to the Clarion on Airport Way or the Best Western up the road, which have real nice rooms. Wont do this again..ds

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I'm sorry your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. Our rooms were fully renovated this spring and we don't have smoking rooms any more, but it's likely that the ten dollar additional on the coupon was because it was the weekend. It would be nice if we didn't have to charge that occupancy tax (like all taxes :) ), but all hotels in the area have to charge that same 13.45%. No sales tax, though! Thank you for the high marks on cleanliness, sir.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Rd., Troutdale, OR 97060 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms are fresh and sparkly from our May 2012 renovation and include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.