We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbia River Hwy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia River Highway

Columbia River Highway
State Highway 30 from Troutdale to The Dalles, Troutdale, OR 97060
888-275-6368
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Troutdale
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historical highway built as the first paved road in the Northwestern portion of Oregon.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Columbia River Hwy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Try it on your motorcycle - lots of fun curves, very cool old stone bridges - and this time of year ROCKS.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    27
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson CIty, TN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Despite the fact that there was fog and smoke from area wildfires the morning that we drove this highway, it was still beautiful. We did not get to enjoy the beautiful vistas, but we loved all the waterfalls, and lush forests. Don't miss making this drive. Although the interstate is faster, you will miss many beautiful scenes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Scenic highway with good views of Columbia River”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very windy, hazy/smoky sky spoiled views. Construction closed road east of the Vista House, forcing a detour back to the interstate highway.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful but scary drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

You drive in and out of the trees and the views. There are plenty of curves to make you slow down and enjoy the quiet and the views. But you also have to stop at all the waterfalls.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A must see...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife lived in Portland and kept telling me how beautiful the river gorge was. She was right, we started early that morning and traveled from Troutdale west and then made a look around Mt Hood. Well worth the time to view this Oregon scenic beauty.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia River Highway also viewed

 

Been to Columbia River Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia River Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.