We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still wrapping my head around it...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Edgefield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added McMenamins Edgefield to your Saves list
McMenamins Edgefield
2126 SW Halsey Street, Troutdale, OR 97060   |  
Hotel amenities
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Still wrapping my head around it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a great property! Where do you even begin? Great rooms, the little red shed, strolling around the property, movies, taking an art walk through the halls, great food options, evening outdoor fires...I could go on, but it's something you'll need to experience yourself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review!
Owen Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    108
    48
    33
    25
See reviews for
57
161
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went to Edgefield for our yearly visit , all is well. We visited all the bars , watched a movie and than went to the great outdoor soaking pool! Wonderful !
We even went to the world famous little red shed for a cigar and Whiskey, gosh I love this place !
If you like off beat stuff , this is your place !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I love how you consider the Little Red Shed world famous. We 're not going to argue with that. Thank you so much for coming!
Owen Craig
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stay here at least twice a year. There is a lot to do here you can watch a movie or just drink beer and walk around the grounds. The golf course is fun. I also like the large soaking tube. There is also a large pool hall in the basement. The food here is very good also, thers is a couple different places to eat on the grounds. I got married here several years ago also there is lots of rooms available for rent is you are planning something special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the wine cellar, they are quieter then the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stay here a few times every year with my sister. A wonderful place. Usually great staff and good clean rooms each one more unique then the last.
Although the sound kept messi g up in the theater last visit it is usually nice hour spent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Hope we see you again soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I attended a wedding last summer and it was beautifully done here. We have stopped here a few times and enjoy he pubs. Staying the night was a nice experience. We shared bathrooms down the hall, and never saw any other people who were staying besides in the halls and restaurants!
Friendly service and a clean room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First time staying in a McMenamin's establishment and both my fiancé and I enjoyed it. The building has an interesting history first being a poor farm and then a nursing home.
Now the place is awash with local art all over the walls, pipes doors and washrooms on all floors. This is interesting to look at as there is always something different that catches your eye. Ok so it's not to my taste but it makes the walks fascinating.
We stayed in the Etta James room which faces the carpark and vineyard, Etta never stayed there sadly but it is named after her in honour. It was a large room, slightly chilly until I found the extra heater. There was a sofa, table and chest of drawers. It doesn't have a TV but that didn't bother us. There is a large room for, well I have no idea, it's certainly big enough to have an ensuite but there is no bathroom, we opted to share the bathroom which is down the hall.
The bathrooms are nice and private-ish, there are 6 separate bathrooms in this one big room so no sharing sinks with strangers.
There are so many different places to explore here, some of the décor is a little tired but there really is something for everyone. I particularly liked:
- The heated outdoor salt-water pool, we visited it at night and it was lovely
- The Vegi sandwich at the Power Station pub...mmmm
- Walking around the different places with your beer
- The variety of drinking dens
- The history
- The doors just waiting to be opened
The front desk staff was really helpful however I found the male bartender @ Black Rabbit Bar surly. Overall we really liked the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. Looks like you got to really explore the Edgefield. Glad you enjoyed the food and ambiance and hotel customer service. Will follow up on the bartender comment, we always appreciate feedback.
See you again
Owen Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved this place. You could spend a week here and not get bored. I loved every part of the whole facility. We want to come back and stay here on our next visit to the pacific northwest. I hope to come here in the summer and catch an outdoor concert

Room Tip: Go for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you!
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McMenamins Edgefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Edgefield

Address: 2126 SW Halsey Street, Troutdale, OR 97060
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your McMenamins Edgefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Edgefield Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Edgefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.