We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of an era...thanks, BW+ Troutdale!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23525 NE Halsey Street, Troutdale, OR 97060-2814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“End of an era...thanks, BW+ Troutdale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have been taking my now 14-year-old granddaughter to this hotel for over 10 years for special overnight visits when I come up from southern Oregon. This has given us some great one-on-one time as well as giving my daughter and her husband a needed 'night off' from parenting. We enjoy the evening cookies, the swimming pool (and hot tub for me) and the many choices for breakfast. This tradition culminated and probably ended last night, as the family is moving across country. For her last night in town, we spent one more night at the BW+ and invited four of her "besties" for a short swim, and to say good-bye. There was lots of silliness, hugs and tears... and a good time was had by all. So, thanks to the BW+ in Troutdale for a decade of memories with my darling granddaughter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_BW_Troutdale, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Oh we are so sorry to hear the family is moving. We have enjoyed having you here for so many years. We love watching families grow up but we do not like to see you moving away. We will miss you but wish you all the best. If you come back for a visit please stop by if only to say hi.

Thank you for your business and sharing your special memories with us.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    76
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
91
96
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our first night of a week-plus long vacation in Oregon started off great at the Best Western in Troutdale. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was a cut-above the typical chain hotel. Hotel staff were very helpful and provided maps and ideas for our trip. It's a great location that is just a few minutes from the airport and right on the edge of the beautiful Columbia Gorge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_BW_Troutdale, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in our area.

We appreciate your business.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel was very clean both in the lobby, room and hallways. The bed was very comfortable and they did provide a good hot what I consider a full breakfast. Has a good location off of the interstate and lots of places to eat right close after a long days drive

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_BW_Troutdale, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We are very happy you found our hotel clean, comfortable, and also liked the location. We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in our area.

Thank you again and enjoy your summer,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

stayed here as it was close to wedding venue , all staff were very pleasant and very helpfull. breakfast was good with plenty of choice . loved making my own waffles , biscuits in gravy was a whole new experience but an enjoyable one l

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_BW_Troutdale, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast and even had a new experience with biscuits and gravy. :) I hope you had a great time at the wedding as well. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

We hope you will come stay with us again in the future.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquie, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stay at this Best Western and the one prior in the week at Lincoln City, Or were very enjoyable. Facility was very clean and situated in a good location. if we had seen a sign on the high way earlier in the week we would have stayed at this Best Western twice in one week. Staff was pleasant and very helpful. We using Best Western as our go to facility when on a trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_BW_Troutdale, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your business and your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your loyalty to our brand. If we can do anything to improve your stay in the future please don't hesitate to ask.

Thanks again and have a great summer,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelicious55
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We booked online and got a room with two beds, ok, we are only one couple but that is fine. The pro is that we got extra pillows :) I liked that the room felt spacious, that it had a small fridge and microwave (always a plus for leftovers & snacks when travelling). I liked their Keurig machine in the room for coffee! Thought that was a nice touch. Coffee kind of sucked (too weak for me). Bed comfy, no complaints.

We got the top floor as requested away from elevator/stairs. Like it when they pay attention to these requests and accommodate when they can. Nice young girl who was interning at check in, a bit lost but that's to be expected as she was just learning, although the supervisors could use some smiling and welcoming lessons. I liked the location, away from the city but not too far, and reasonable rates (half of downtown pricing, without the crime and the homeless factor). Decided to possibly extend for a second night, called down and was told the rate would be higher (which I thought odd since it was a Sunday night, usually prices go down as vacancy goes up), I mentioned the online price was less and was told 'that could very well be....like go ahead, book it online then'.....funny I would think they can match whatever is posted. Anyway, mulling it over then he calls back to say 'actually that room isn't available so you would have to change rooms, and the only other is a king for double the price". Ok, well b-bye now!!! I have lots of other options, I am not the business at half capacity so see-ya!!!! Bugs me when they make you feel like they are doing YOU a favor when in fact YOU are the customer giving them YOUR business. ,,,,,Or NOT as it were!

So bottom line, hotel is not bad, staff and hotel policies, ability to accommodate could use improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_BW_Troutdale, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Sorry to hear your experience wasn't as good as it should have been. It is true that we do not have access to the "internet Only" specials and I do apologize for how that was handled. Our rates do go up and down with the special events in the summer so it is possible that a rate can be higher on a Sunday. I am a little concerned that this may not be the right hotel however as we do not have Keurig coffee makers. In any case, no matter which Best Western you stay with you should have a great experience and I do apologize that you did not and I hope you will stay with us in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and Best Western appreciates your business.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Nice hotel, easy to get into Portland and out to the waterfalls east of town. I found the hotel staff to be friendly and offer good food recommendations. Easy to get to off the highway. The Multnomah falls area close by is wonderful and I hghly recommend also doing the Oneta Gorge hike up to a waterfall. The hike is beautiful and easy to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_BW_Troutdale, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We are so pleased to hear you not only enjoyed our hotel but found our waterfalls in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the waterfalls for other to see and possibly go enjoy as well and of course for writing your review of our hotel. Our goal is to please and if there is anything we can do in the future to enhance your experience with us please let us know.

Thank you for staying with us,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites

Address: 23525 NE Halsey Street, Troutdale, OR 97060-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Ultra Clean Troutdale, Oregon hotel is situated in the heart of Oregon's best natural wonders and attractions. Located at the mouth of the Columbia River Gorge but just minutes from downtown Portland, visitors can experience breathtaking Gorge sights without staying too far from the state's urban capital. Guests of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites will enjoy friendly service and deluxe hotel amenities - like satellite television, luxurious pillow top mattresses, high-speed Internet access, complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, complimentary newspapers, and an evening soup and cookie reception every Monday through Thursday. This Troutdale hotel also features an indoor heated pool, hot tub, steam room, and exercise room, is completely non-smoking and pet-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Troutdale
Troutdale Best Western
Best Western Cascade Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.