We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites
23525 NE Halsey Street, Troutdale, OR 97060-2814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Troutdale
Billings, Montana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were in the area and got referred to the Cascade Inn & Suites by another motel who did not have a pool. I'm thankful for the referral as I had 2 young ladies who wanted to swim. The room/suite was very clean and extremely roomy. I remember the huge mattresses on the beds and the sitting area was very well appointed. The staff treated us well and were very informative. The breakfast area was well appointed though I wish they could have had a larger breakfast. I would definitely stay there again and have passed by the area not knowing it was there. Now that I do I can better plan my next trip through that area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    59
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
68
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Ok, so I did try to check in a little early but there was no one on the front desk. I rang the bell as indicated on the sign and waited. And waited. Finally a voice from down the hall "I'm coming, already" (honest, I only range the bell once). When the young woman told me that our room wasn't ready and to come back after 3, no problem. We went for a drive and explored the area nearby.

Back at 3:30. Now a taped sign over the 'ring the bell' stating I'll be back soon. (The same young girl was sitting right there). She again started to say the room wasn't ready (without checking). i asked her to please check. Guess what? Room was ready. Room wasn't great shakes but ok for an overnight stay.

Now, after going out to supper, we were told there was cookies (fresh) in the lobby from 6:30 to 10:00. Nope, no cookies. The front desk clerk (this time a young man) was out front of the hotel, having a smoke - something that again detracted from this being a place I would choose.

When checking out the next morning, I did advise the front desk of our experience the evening before. Apparently the rude young women was working out her notice. Then for pity's sake don't leave her to serve the public, put her in a back room somewhere or pay her out. You're not doing your establishment any benefit by leaving a disgruntled employee in charge.

I'd give this place a skip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The manager assessed a "smoking fee" to our room when in fact we did NOT smoke in there. We are both professional people, parents, etc; we would never break the rules like that. We travel frequently and have always been respectful tenants of the many properties that we have stayed at. We have never encountered such a problem. We were able to get the fee refunded, but the manager was curt and rude about it. There are plenty of other places to stay so we will not be back to this Best Western; and in other cities if we have a choice of hotels rather than the Best Western chain we will not stay at any Best Western. The experience was demoralizing at best and I am very disappointed. The actual physical plant was fine--the room was clean enough, the bed was comfortable. The WiFi was fine. The bathroom did get really steamy as one reviewer said, but that is not really a big deal to me. I highly value customer service, and coming home to find an unfair/ inaccurate $250 smoking fee assessed to my checking account (which could have been a financial disaster); and then having to deal with the unpleasent general manager to finally get the fee rescinded made the overall experience terrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed 3nights at this Best Western. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Very helpful with directions and maps. Their breakfast was yummy and convenient. Our room was clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend staying at this Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here recently, early July, for 2 nights. Wanted to tour around Portland without paying Downtown hotel prices - good idea too. Was a quiet area, also with other shopping such as Target, Walmart and Outlet shopping nearby. Ask for the AAA rate too. Got a King size bed with a pull-out sofa for our 2 small children, Very large room, but tiny bathroom, they could have made the bathroom larger for sure! Had breakfast for free downstairs both mornings, cereal, fruit, yogurt, hot foods and waffles to make fresh too - decent, especially for free! Had to do laundry one night from our vacation so far and front desk gave me tons of quarters for change, very helpful to us the few times we needed them. I would stay again if I was in the area. We drove downtown and parked there to get on free Max Tram and went street shopping/Pioneer Place as well as to the Air Tram for free. Had a great time near that part of Oregon.

Room Tip: If you have small kids, go for the King Size room and sofa pull-out. Still a huge room with a King S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our hotel room had two queen beds and a pull out sofa bed, plus a small fridge and a desk. It also had the smallest bathroom we have ever seen! The bathroom door had to be closed to fit a person into it, which, when you're travelling with three children, is not realistic. It was near impossible to work with that bathroom. Plus, there was no exhaust fan, so one short shower steamed the room up for quite a while.
The free wi-fi in the room did not work well; it took forever to load anything so we just gave up. We were unable to plan our trip for the following day using the room's free wi-fi as hoped.
The beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was okay.
Overall, we weren't too impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here because going West it was only 15 minutes to downtown Portland, yet going east it was 10 minutes to the beginning of the Columbia River Gorge. It is a few blocks off of I-84, so easy on and off yet far enough away that you got none of the noise.

This was a Best Western Plus, so it was a little nicer inside than the standard BW. We stayed in a family suite that had 2 queen beds plus a living room with a couch, and a fridge and microwave. Overall it was well appointed, updated and very clean. They had an indoor pool that was a good size, heated and very clean as well.

We stayed here 3 nights and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites

Address: 23525 NE Halsey Street, Troutdale, OR 97060-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Ultra Clean Troutdale, Oregon hotel is situated in the heart of Oregon's best natural wonders and attractions. Located at the mouth of the Columbia River Gorge but just minutes from downtown Portland, visitors can experience breathtaking Gorge sights without staying too far from the state's urban capital. Guests of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites will enjoy friendly service and deluxe hotel amenities - like satellite television, luxurious pillow top mattresses, high-speed Internet access, complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, complimentary newspapers, and an evening soup and cookie reception every Monday through Thursday. This Troutdale hotel also features an indoor heated pool, hot tub, steam room, and exercise room, is completely non-smoking and pet-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Troutdale
Troutdale Best Western
Best Western Cascade Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.