We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, historic, beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timberline Lodge

Save Saved
You added Timberline Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27500 E Timberline Road, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy, historic, beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I reserved a package night here (stay one night and get two all-day lift tickets) on January 7. I didn't think about the possibility that we could get rained out, but we did (36 degrees and yucky conditions on the slopes). We were surprised at how little that mattered. We sat in the outdoor hot tub listening to the wind in the trees, had a lovely dinner in the Cascade Dining Room, checked out all the art and wood carvings displayed on the walls, and lounged around in our feather bed watching football. Yes, the TVs are small and it's not modernized, but isn't that the point? It's a 1937 lodge built by WPA workers and a person can spend hours just checking out the interior.
Everything was clean and well kept, comfortable, and with loads of private nooks and corners in the common areas for reading, lounging by the fire, etc. I can't wait to go there again, and actually ski this time.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the parking lot are still good, but go for one on the slope side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    123
    36
    32
    14
See reviews for
97
182
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place was very shiny.
We were excited by the historic nature of the place, but even more by The Shining connection.
We booked months ahead from Australia, and were so excited by the prospect of staying here.
I had done my research and knew what to expect from the rooms (you are not paying for all the mod cons), small, thin walls, little windows, but it was so worth it!
Part of the research we did was about what we should expect from the weather. We knew it would be very unlikely to snow. However, it snowed early last year apparently, and we were treated to quite a covering (my first time ever seeing snow!!). Although we were nervous about driving in the conditions (so inexperienced), the hotel staff were very helpful and reassured us (I've still got my Timberline windscreen scraper!).
All of the staff were excellent. There was a murder mystery event on the evening we were there, which we chose not to attend because of the restricted set menu, but we enjoyed sitting at the bar, being served by Lloyd, watching all of the scavenger hunters trying to collect clues.
I'd love to come back and attempt to ski when the slopes are open...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Timberline is a homey lodge built in the 1930s, with a nice central lobby with fireplaces and skiing right out the front door. Unfortunately, the hotel employs young staff that have not received enough customer service training to warrant $300/night hotel rooms.

We arrived early on a shuttle from Portland (Sea to Summit, highly recommended-ask for Josh). We asked about our room around 9am, which we knew would not be ready, but hoped along with a few other couples that the housekeeping staff would prepare first so that we could put our bags away and start enjoying our stay. We were put on a waiting list.

One couple got a call around noon and went to their room. We checked in with the front desk several times over the course of the afternoon, but each time the very young clerk said the room was not ready. We sat with out bags in the hotel lobby for six hours, until 4pm (check in time), when miraculously our room was "ready." It as clear the room had been ready for hours, but what's worse, the hotel staff either was not smart enough or more likely simply did not care enough to prepare rooms for people that arrived early in the day so that they could check in. They likely simply cleaned rooms in whatever order they did every day, regardless of whether someone was waiting or a particular one, as we were.

The rooms themselves are small, with industrial toilets, small showers, comfortable beds, and very small TVs.

The restaurant in the hotel was good for breakfast, and the bar upstairs is good. The hotel is very kid-friendly.

It's nice to avoid the drive in the winter (chains required most of the time), but I would not say the lodge is enough of an attraction to justify the prices, especially given the poor training of the front counter staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the ADA rooms if possible and the rooms on the third floor have less space due to the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is well worth the splurge. This is an incredible historic lodge inside and out. The immense fireplace adds the perfect ambiance for a winter escape. The pool and hot tub are open year round. We thought the food was overpriced for the less than impressive meal. If you are booking with short notice, ask for a reduced rate. They have honored our request.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend Christmas 2012 at Timberline. It was without a doubt the best Christmas in our 27 years of marriage. The accomodations, food and staff were excellent. We cannot say enough about the great service and experience we had and will be planning another Christmas at this wonderful place

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, If you want a little extra treat choose the Fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been here many times and finally had the opportunity to stay for two nights.
We booked a fireplace king room with a real wood burning fireplace (which was amazing) the room was spacious and had a nice large bathroom. The view was partially obscured by trees but still had a nice view of the mountain.
The room was large enough that we used it as a dressing room for all 7 groomsmen and had plenty of space for everyone. Did I mention we were here for a wedding?! The ceremony was conducted on the back patio and while it was a little chilly it was a beautiful ceremony. The most amazing thing was the rehearsal dinner up at the Silcox hut, a once in a lifetime experience that I'd highly recommend.
The reception was quite nice as well and the staff was super friendly and helpful. I have zero complaints about anything except having to bring all the gifts (dozens) down two elevators a long hallway and finally out to the car. Who brings giant presents to a wedding on a mountain? Checks people!
I could go on and on but instead I’ll just say I would highly recommend Timberline to ANYONE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our Stay at this lodge was unlike any other. From the unbelievably beautiful setting to the WPA craftsmanship in the lodge and furnishings, Timberline Lodge is in a league of its own. Our visit was in October and a decent snowfall during our stay capped off the alpine experience. The service was great at the lodge and we plan to return. If it is ski season during our next visit , I will be bringing my skis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 27500 E Timberline Road, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic hotel. On the flanks of Mount Hood in the Cascade range of Oregon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberline Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.