We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite lodge is loaded with old world rustic charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timberline Lodge

Save Saved
You added Timberline Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27500 E Timberline Road, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My favorite lodge is loaded with old world rustic charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Whether we have time to spend the night or just stop in for a meal, we always enjoy visiting Timberline lodge (even though we don't ski any longer). The lodge was built during the depression to create work. The craftsmanship is incredible and the amount of artisans that worked on it is impressive and shows everywhere you look. I think almost everything was handmade or forged. If you stay overnight, go for a room with a fireplace. Only drawback is sound transfer but the ambiance makes it worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Timberline Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. We always strive to meet our guests expectations and value your opion and business. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    123
    36
    32
    14
See reviews for
97
182
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I think most folks will enjoy not only the mountain views and the feel of being tucked up on Mt. Hood, but also the opportunity to see and feel Timberline so they can imagine the feat accomplished nearly a century ago to construct such a beautiful example of American mountain architecture from the past.

When you visit Timberline, you'll need to prepare to take a step into the past. From the handmade wrought iron door latches to the giant wood columns which support the building and wood shingles, most aspects of the original have been restored. One area which I think was restored in a more modern way are the bathrooms and I think most folks will appreciate that.

This would not be the kind of place to spend a long holiday on account of cost and the fact most folks will miss the modern amenities and on account the rooms are a bit small. But to experience Timberline is something nobody should miss.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Get a fireplace room if you can afford it, they're bigger and very comfortable. And watch for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I are going to be staying at the lodge tomorrow (on my birthday) and I have spoken with Jezrai, who handles reservations - ahead of time. I haven't even met her but she has gone out of her way to make me feel so incredibly special. I called a few times with questions and each time she treats me with enthusiasm, joy, and answers my questions. I can tell that she really, really cares. Part of staying at a hotel is the anticipation as well as the actual experience. I am so incredibly excited to stay at Timberline, especially because of her outstanding customer service and her natural, unassuming warmth. Thank you, Timberline Lodge for caring so much about excellent customer service that you hire someone as lovely as Jezrai!! Can't wait to be there tomorrow!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Timberline Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. I have shared this with Jezrai and other staff members to highlight the importance of great guest service. Thank you for acknowledging our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Built during the WPA era, this lodge is another example of how well that program worked to employ artists of all types. Every piece of timber is a work of art. The fireplace with views of Mt. Hood in the background, the writing desks in the corner, the quiet warmth of the great room, all conspire to take you back to a slower, more comfortable time.

Just fantastic!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the full room if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Beautiful scenery and great accomodations. We were there on a mom/daughter trip and have to say they did everything they could to make it speacial. We ended up in one of the larger suites on the 2nd floor - 4 windows vs other rooms that only had one. I would highly recommend asking how many windows there are in the room you request whereas some of the rooms can be rather dark. We had a beautiful view of Mt. Hood. The Cascade dining room is very nice and the food is very good. The service is excellent, though the manager at the front was a bit rude when I asked about a window table. He was short-toned and snappy - very unfortunate when the rest of the experience was lovely. Do not make a mistake - this is a tourist area, and you can feel it, but the historical value and views are stunning, I would defiitely go back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask how many windows you have in your room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The artist involved creating this lodge is unbelievable. The had carved bannisters, the drapes in each room had made by Friends of Timberline is so unique. There is a price range for everyone. The chalet rooms are adequate and allow you to stay here. The regular rooms also contain all the hand made articles. Large rooms contain wood burning fire places. The view of Mt. Hood is beautiful both summer and winter. The dining room serves an elegant breakfast and lunch buffet. Dinner always has chefs additions which add to the wonderful dinner., The towels are thick, and large and very soft. The bathroom items are specially made for Timberline by a small unique company.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hallways have rooms with great views. Odd numbered rooms are mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Enjoyed the fireplace and lounging areas. The room was clean but small. It was a step back in time. The construction of the lodge is amazing. Walked the trails around the lodge for short walks. The altitude limited the activity. (I live at sea level.) Wonderful experience!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 27500 E Timberline Road, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic hotel. On the flanks of Mount Hood in the Cascade range of Oregon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberline Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.