We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cheeses and Gourmet shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Cheese & Wine Company

Blue Heron Cheese & Wine Company
2001 Blue Heron Drive, Tillamook, OR 97141
800-275-0639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 attractions in Tillamook
Type: Specialty Shops, Tours, Farms
Attraction Details
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
690 reviews 690 reviews
245 attraction reviews
Reviews in 290 cities Reviews in 290 cities
386 helpful votes 386 helpful votes
“Excellent Cheeses and Gourmet shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have been planning this stop for this trip for awhile. There are tastings for each of the bries sold, we bought the smoky and herb varieties. We also picked up some cheese knots we cannot find just anywhere. There's a lot of touristy stuff as well, but if you know what you want it's great to have it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    41
    30
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Don't bypass this stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stopped in here on our way to the Tillamook Cheese Factory and loved everything about it. They have an amazing assortment of samples - their own Brie cheeses - but also lots of sauces, dips, dressings, etc. We didn't stay for lunch but I'm sure the offerings were delicious and served with the same friendly attention we enjoyed everywhere else in this establishment. Varieties of hard-to-find cheeses and salamis are also available for sale.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious brie and chocolate, plus great petting zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our first stop on our trip down the Oregon coast. I mostly was just dropping by for the brie (which I adore), and we also had a very delicious chocolate peanut butter truffle (it was expensive, but the two of us quite happily split one and were satisfied).

But the reason I am writing this is the petting zoo. My fiance is a suburban kid who hasn't gotten to hang out with farm animals... and I'm crazy about animals so I was game to buy some feed so we both could pet them. There are sheep, lambs, rams, a llama, a couple of donkeys, a bunch of chickens and geese, and an emu. They are all fairly friendly and extremely greedy. Don't expect them to care a bit about you if you don't feed them. I showed my fiance and also a little Japanese boy how to hand-feed animals properly, which was fun. (There aren't any signs telling you how to do this, so city slickers take note: you want to keep your hand flat, fingers together to prevent any inadvertent loss or damage to your digits.)

Fair warning: the emu, like most birds, eats by pecking. Hand-feeding will hurt! (I found this out the hard way -- this was my first encounter with a seriously large bird. The thing was taller than me). If you hold the bag open (and away from your vitals, please) the emu will stick its head right in the bag and peck away. I wish I had taken some pictures.

Anyway, $5 of feed (5 small bags) will last you a long time and is thus cheap entertainment for kiddos (or silly adults like us).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, OH
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not the cheese company we expected, but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stopped at Blue Heron French Cheese Company, a big, clean & family friendly place with lots outside for kids & adults (old farm equipment, etc) to see, and lots of samples of mustards & jams inside (but only a few types of cheese samples). Lots of other stuff to buy – we got a few items. The staff was helpful. They have food to order & tables inside & outside with beautiful flowers to look at while you eat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Great Plains, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love the smoked brie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm not sure exactly what level of sanitation other reviewers were expecting, but when you have samples sitting out for people to help themselves, there's obviously a risk of double dipping, etc. So if that's not your cup of tea, don't bother. Personally, I like being able to sample a wide range of products before purchasing. They don't make most of the cheese themselves, but they do have a nice variety available, and their smoked brie is wonderful. I found all of the people working there to be very friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Cheese & Wine Company also viewed

 
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blue Heron Cheese & Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Cheese & Wine Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Cheese & Wine Company to your Saves list