We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Lookout State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tillamook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Lookout State Park
Save
You added Cape Lookout State Park to your Saves list
13000 Whiskey Creek Road, Tillamook, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Had to book almost a year in advance. Glad we did! Stayed in a cabin for two nights. Bunk beds for kids, futon couch/ bed for grownups. Kitchen sink, fridge, microwave, table, storage, ample hooks for hanging clothes/ towels/ sweaters, shower, toilet, bathroom sink (inside); porch, bench, gas grill, fire pit, picnic table (outside). Hiking trails nearby. Beach a few feet away from your front door. Clamming not far away if you're into that. All in all, great camping spot. Will return. Kids loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in site #A48 at Cape Lookout State Park. We were close to the beach---just up and over the dune and could hear the surf from our site--day or night. We had good privacy from the sites behind us, but those on either side of us were pretty open to each other.

The beach was clean, big, and fun. Besides normal shells, we found a sand dollar and starfish when the tide was out. We even swam in the cold ocean--water was warmer here then it was in Newport area (further south!).

The staff was very strict on kids under 16 wearing bike helmets. That was a bummer because our state doesn't have that law and we hadn't brought helmets with. My son was told he had to "walk his bike"back to the campsite even when he was only a few feet away. So, bring helmets if you have kids and bikes!

Showers were reasonable clean. You cannot adjust the water temp, but we never ran out of hot water either. I only had to wait one time for a shower and that was only about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: A46 has NO privacy from the women's restroom, but A47 has good foliage between it and the men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved it. Would have been nice to have more space between the sites but was otherwise the best coast campground we have been to with the shortest distance from came to beach! Will be going back soon for a girls only trip and we will stay in the yurt this time instead of tents!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My parents take me many places, and in my 12 years, I have been to many beaches, but we go to this one most often! Cabins are very private and clean, easy beach excess, friendly staff, clean beach, and a great trail. As far as what sort of trip it was, i'd say all. Kick back and relax.

Room Tip: Netarts cabin is very nice, but if you don't mind nabors on one side and forest on the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our first camping trip in our trailer. We did luck out and got great weather. We stayed in C loop and the site was full of trees. We had privacy, picnic table and fire pit... Oh, and full hook ups. There wasn't cable or antennae reception, but we didn't need it. The kids were exhausted from playing on the beach all day. The beach is just a 3 minute easy walk. The only thing I would do different for next time is bring beach chairs and scooters for the kids.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love this campground, the sound of ocean waves lull you to sleep.
Hiking trails for all levels
Picnic tables overlooking the ocean
Wonderful outdoor fire pits outside your yurts to cook on.
Fun place to go with the Grandkids

Room Tip: Look for yurts with door not facing the road, they have several that face the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This review is in reference to the campgrounds and the tent sites. The campgrounds are in an ideal location. There are many, many places to go in the surrounding areas only a few miles away. From the campgrounds you are only 3 miles away from the Cape Lookout trailhead that leads to panoramic views of the coast and isolated beaches. Also, you're very close to the Three Arches and Cape Kiwanda. Not to mention that the campgrounds are literally next to the beach. This is the spot if location is what matters to you! However, if you are looking for isolation than you best forget this place. The tent campsites offer little to no shelter from your neighbors. There isn't much shrubbery/trees to hide you from other campers. You're going to be in close quarters and you better like that. Particularly, given the popularity of this site. I'm not a fan of this, but I do think you best suck it up and enjoy it because the place is beautiful! Also, the bathrooms and other facilities could be a little better kept. Not that I really care since I go wild most of the time I'm camping! And so do my dogs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Lookout State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lookout State Park

Address: 13000 Whiskey Creek Road, Tillamook, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Tillamook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tillamook
Also Known As:
Cape Lookout State Park Hotel Tillamook
Cape Lookout State Park Tillamook, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Lookout State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.