We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Lookout State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tillamook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Lookout State Park
Save
You added Cape Lookout State Park to your Saves list
13000 Whiskey Creek Road, Tillamook, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carson, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My parents take me many places, and in my 12 years, I have been to many beaches, but we go to this one most often! Cabins are very private and clean, easy beach excess, friendly staff, clean beach, and a great trail. As far as what sort of trip it was, i'd say all. Kick back and relax.

Room Tip: Netarts cabin is very nice, but if you don't mind nabors on one side and forest on the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washougal, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our first camping trip in our trailer. We did luck out and got great weather. We stayed in C loop and the site was full of trees. We had privacy, picnic table and fire pit... Oh, and full hook ups. There wasn't cable or antennae reception, but we didn't need it. The kids were exhausted from playing on the beach all day. The beach is just a 3 minute easy walk. The only thing I would do different for next time is bring beach chairs and scooters for the kids.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love this campground, the sound of ocean waves lull you to sleep.
Hiking trails for all levels
Picnic tables overlooking the ocean
Wonderful outdoor fire pits outside your yurts to cook on.
Fun place to go with the Grandkids

Room Tip: Look for yurts with door not facing the road, they have several that face the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This review is in reference to the campgrounds and the tent sites. The campgrounds are in an ideal location. There are many, many places to go in the surrounding areas only a few miles away. From the campgrounds you are only 3 miles away from the Cape Lookout trailhead that leads to panoramic views of the coast and isolated beaches. Also, you're very close to the Three Arches and Cape Kiwanda. Not to mention that the campgrounds are literally next to the beach. This is the spot if location is what matters to you! However, if you are looking for isolation than you best forget this place. The tent campsites offer little to no shelter from your neighbors. There isn't much shrubbery/trees to hide you from other campers. You're going to be in close quarters and you better like that. Particularly, given the popularity of this site. I'm not a fan of this, but I do think you best suck it up and enjoy it because the place is beautiful! Also, the bathrooms and other facilities could be a little better kept. Not that I really care since I go wild most of the time I'm camping! And so do my dogs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in Yurt C 52 for five nights and had a blast! Our friends brought their camper and stayed in the spot right across the path from us. We had never stayed on the Oregon Coast in March before (had only ever visited in the summer!) and were not disappointed. The campground was beautiful, the beach was amazing and the yurt was so comfortable and cozy. The waters were rough and choppy and the scenery was gorgeous! One of our best visits to the coast.

The campground was tidy and well maintained. The camp hosts were great and the rangers were friendly. The restrooms and showers were located close to our yurt. The campground was alive with the singing and chatter of birds and squirrels and you can hear the ocean's roar from the beach, located right over the dune behind our yurt. A great visit!

We were nicely located so that we could easily travel north one day to see all the towns and beaches from Tillamook up to Astoria, and then travel south the next day from Tillamook down to Newport. GREAT food at Pacific Restaurant in Tillamook and their Pioneer Museum was amazing! LOTS to see and do!

We were here during Spring Break 2013 and the campground was almost full to capacity. There were lots of children running about and riding bikes and scooters,and lots of dogs on leashes, but this was not a problem for us...the child and pet free set! It was delightful seeing them all having a great time. It did make us miss our (grown) kids and dogs, tho!

Thanks so much, Cape Lookout! We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Celebrating our anniversary as well as taking the boys out for their first camping experience, I rented a yurt for one evening for our Oregon camping adventure. This was done months prior to our actual stay, however, as its commonly noted that yurt availability is hard to come by as these things are very popular.

We bought some sheets, blankets, pillows, and ingredients to make smores at the local Target and headed off on our road trip from Seattle to Cape Lookout State Park. Arriving after the park ranger station had closed, we found the camp host and were promptly checked-in and pointed out to our yurt.

Long story short, kids loved it. Wife loved it. Smores kicked butt. We all woke up next morning before the sunrise and took a nice stroll down the beach. AWESOME-ness!

So if you haven't booked a yurt yet, its time to get on it. Pick a weekend, make the reservation and take that weekend adventure. This park has great hiking, great views, and amazing yurts.

Room Tip: Check out the facilities and site map on the Oregon state parks website to find the one that's m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After several days of rain and drizzle we were eager to lace up our boots for a hike. We choose the Cape Trail (2.4mi one way, easy/moderate) in the park. Eventhough is was November it was sunny and warm at the beginning and foggy (mystic athmosphere) at the end and the hike was just fabulous. There was some maintance work on the trail going on, butit didn't bother us to much. The trail was sometimes pretty muddy (put on the right footgear). But the views .....WOW! For the time of the year and the day we didn't expect so many other hikers. We enjoyed it very much. Plan about 2.5 hours in total.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Lookout State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lookout State Park

Address: 13000 Whiskey Creek Road, Tillamook, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Tillamook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tillamook
Also Known As:
Cape Lookout State Park Hotel Tillamook
Cape Lookout State Park Tillamook, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Lookout State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.