We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger in the county” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tillamook Air Museum

Tillamook Air Museum
6030 Hangar Road, Tillamook, OR 97141
503-842-1130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Attractions in Tillamook
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best burger in the county”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently visited the Tillamook Air Museum hungry after a long drive and with five other mouths to feed. At a gas station along the way I visited their website to find that I could call my order ahead. With their full menu for the Air Base Café being online and a nice receptionist to answer the phone, ordering was easy. The six of us showed up and our food was out in seconds. The Bomber Burger was amazing and when I went up to the register to order coffee the woman taking my order said 'it's on us.'

http://tillamookair.com/

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    75
    28
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A "Don't Miss" stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This had to be one of the best museums dedicated to flight I have seen in a while. The displays and fact boards were outstanding. The movie about the building of the dirigible structure to house the dirigibles was fascinating. They house engines from all the aircraft so closer inspection is easier to see. The gift shop is well stocked for all ages.
The restaurant was really good. Our frineds enjoyed a double decker hamburger and my husband and I split a chicken caesar wrap Quite reasonable too.
A definite must see stop during any trip to the Oregon coast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Blimp mania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

For anyone who remembers seeing WWII blimps and Naval Air Stations, you will enjoy the chance to go inside and see how these massive structures were built out of wood, with no internal supports. There is an excellent movie about the Tillamook Naval Air Station and the role of blimps. The restored planes are identified and provide interesting information about how they were used in WWII, Vietnam, etc.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very neat planes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This museum is filled with really interesting old planes of all sorts. They have a neat movie going about the hangar itself and also a room with an exhibit of old pictures and items like clothes, papers, and other misc. things. Our kids (10 and 12 yrs) enjoyed climbing in little cockpits on the side and seeing all the planes too. We did not eat at the cafe but several people were dining there and it looked good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“See it before it is gone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Housed in a blimp hangar, this museum is not going to be here past 2014. It needs a lot of fixing up and no one is going to do it, so the planes will be moved out in 2014. But it is something to see now. Lots of old airplanes that still fly, great exhibits and videos. Also a good film on the building of the hangar so you really get a lot of information about the importance of this air station in WWII to protect the coast. It blimps were housed in the hangars and they flew constantly for days checking for signs of submarines. Extremely interesting and well worth your time. They have a WWII diner too with very good fast food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tillamook Air Museum also viewed

 
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Tillamook Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tillamook Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.