We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple atmosphere but terrific food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Garden
1145 Main Ave N, Tillamook, OR 97141
5038158382
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 43 restaurants in Tillamook
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
caligirlinUK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simple atmosphere but terrific food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had dinner with the family whilst visiting. It is a very plain restaurant, not very welcoming on the outisde. The staff were lovely though and the food was great. Huge huge portions though. It was wasted on us as we were staying in a hotel and couldnt take our leftovers away. The mongolian beef was excellent, as were the potstickers. Excellent value as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    6
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food at an Excellent Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my first visit to the China Garden but have herd great things about this place, before reading on Trip Advisor. I was a little skeptical because usually all Chinese food is the same, however; not the case for this wonderful place. The food was fresh and tasted much better than any other Chinese food I have had. I had the 3 piece combo with shrimp, steamed rice and another side which I can't remember but it was great! On a side note, the decor does need updating.

I did not visit the lounge, however, if I did I am sure it would have been the same quality as the wonderful food. I would recommend the China Garden for families and perhaps a date. I will be returning to have more of the wonderful cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Late Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food was great and the service was fast! It was nice that they were open late. When we got back back from the beach/dunes it was about 9:30 and we were happy to have a restaurant so close.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Don't let the exterior fool you - the food is really very good and the service is fast and friendly. We ordered the $7 lunch combo (soup, spring roll, almond chicken, pork fried rice and fried shrimp) and there was more than enough for two people. A lot of the locals eat here regularly - it's great food at a great price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quality matches the price, CHEAP! But fabulous customer service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through and decided to order carry out to take back to Cannon Beach. We ordered general tsao chicken, almond chicken with sweet/sour sauce, spring rolls, and potstickers. All for around 30$. The staff also gave us a large soup, crab rangoon, and rice for free. We didn't even know about the soup/rangoon till we were nibbling on our way back to our hotel in Cannon Beach. The food tasted cheap, very poor quality compared to what we are used to. The location was right off the main road and easy to get to, plus the staff were friendly and generous! Very gross food though and will definitely not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Garden also viewed

Tillamook, Oregon Coast
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 

Been to China Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.