We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Happy Hour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gustav's German Pub & Grill

Gustav's German Pub & Grill
10350 SW Greenburg Rd, Tigard, OR 97223-1405
(503) 639-4544
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 121 Restaurants in Tigard
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first time at Gustav's and I've never been to any of the other locations either. They were open on Labor Day and available for us when we were hungry. The service (Thanks Jena!) was impeccable, by our waitress and the other two gentlemen dressed nicely - manager(s)? We tried a handful of items, including the fondue sampler, sausages, soup (butternut squash), steelhead and meatballs. The fondue was my favorite - delicious! The beer suggestions were also very helpful - I'll be on the lookout for grapefruit hefeweizen in the future. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    36
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great German food and non-German food, too. The French dip sandwich was huge and could be split between 2 people. The noodles and cheese sauce was very tasty. The staff is very friendly and never rushed us even though the place was packed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos NM
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best grilled cheese ever?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

At the Portland airport, lunchtime. Looked around, decided a German sausage sounded good. Got the lentil soup with a bier sausage and rosemary garlic cheese bread. Soup was good, but the grilled cheese, it was really good. Tried a local merlot. I just have never liked any of the wines I have tried from the Pacific Northwest. Would I return? Oh, yeah. Price for lunch? $20. A bit high, but such is life in an airport, but I got a sit down seat with a TV tuned to baseball.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Happys Hour Menu Offers Saving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

From 3pm to 6pm, and after 9pm, you can save a bunch by ordering off the Happy Hour menu. Fondue, salads and standard menu fare at discount prices. All very tasty and reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Wunderbar...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Saturday eve dinner with friends - loved the beers, fondue and schnitzel. Service was outstanding and the outside patio very comfortable. We frequented this establishment often before we moved to Seattle. Love German food and Gustav's doesn't let us down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gustav's German Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gustav's German Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.