We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking exists here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banning's Restaurant & Pie

Banning's Restaurant & Pie
11477 SW Pacific Hwy, Tigard, OR 97223-8627
(503) 244-2558
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 121 Restaurants in Tigard
Cuisines: Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Home cooking exists here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is like a Shari's but the food is "homemade" and I mean more than just pies are homemade which makes everything taste great.
Doesn't matter what you order on the menu, I think you will find it to your liking. My most recent trip there was for dinner and I did not have pie but I have had it in the past and it is darn good.
Parking is easy, finding it is easy and wait staff are all very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“About what you'd expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Unless you were one of the regulars you got poor service. Noticed this not just for us, but for others too. It toeek 45 minutes for us to be served a piece of pie! The pie was ok, but not worth $5 a slice and the wait.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great 24 hr family diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to Bannings for about 5 years. When I describe it to people I always say " I have never had a bad meal". The prices are reasonable and portions are generous. Service is friendly and casual.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrific: Food, service, prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Banning's has it all: an, excellent, seasonal menu featuring fresh, local ingredients; good prices, and a friendly, efficient staff. I had the best chicken noodle soup in ages, and a delicious patty melt with the most amazing pumpkin cheese cake. My wife had stuffed hashed browns -- awesome! A lot of people come just for pie which is understandable when you see and taste them -- outstanding!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, ID
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast was great, must try dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a very upscale coffe shop type restaurant with nice decor and very good food and it's only a little bit pricey. I had the eight ounce steak and eggs with hashbrowns and an English muffin. It was the best steak I have ever been served with eggs for breakfast.. Trouble is.....about half way through the meal I ran out of steak sauce. All this time, the waiter hadn't even looked in my direction. I asked a waitress for another bottle and she looked at me like I was speaking another language. But she did send my waiter over who eventually fixed the problem. OK, just one dude having a bad doesn't make it a bad restaurant. The second time I go there I will sit at another's table, Anyway, the meal was a reasonable fourteen bucks before tip, which was also the total.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banning's Restaurant & Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banning's Restaurant & Pie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.