We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard to your Saves list
Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   17950 SW McEwan Rd, I-5 at Exit 290, Tigard, OR 97224   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Tigard
Eugene
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here because we wanted the cheapest hotel we could find. And you get exactly what you pay for.

The room is simple - the bed was ok, there was a TV, bathroom is small... but what do you expect for $45!

It was very clean though.

There were some strange people staying here though - I didn't feel entirely safe in the parking lot at night and there were people revving their car engines and making noise until quite late. But again, what do you expect when you pay $45?

A cheap place to stay for the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
10
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yuma
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

On 8/27-8/28/12 and 9/1/12 My wife and I stayed here. They gave us RM# 137 / 139. We usually stay once a year when in the Portland area. We find the rooms very nice and clean. On 8/28 we were awaken by two men hollering in the end building but other than that it was very quite. The staff attended to that problem quickly.

I would like to see coffee ready a little earlier for those who hit the road at daybreak.

Thanks
Emry & Virginia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel was disgusting. Brown Stains all over the carpet, yellow stains all over the inside of the bathroom door, Cigarette burns in the bedding and soap scum coating the bottom of the shower.
Tried to take my kids swimming but there was a group of drunk people at the pool smoking and throwing their ash into the pool. front desk didn't care. The room was freezing cold, and couldn't find a way to turn on the heat or turn off the AC. Asked front desk and was told I couldn't becuase its all central air and controlled at the front desk for all the rooms. Told them it was freezing cold in my room, best they could do was say they could bring me extra blankets, which never came. Also because all the vents are attached to each room nonsmoking rooms reek of cigarette smoke leaking in from other rooms. When we checked in there was odd man hanging out at the front desk - they announced my room number out loud and the man exclaimed "Hey you're my new neighbour!" Which made me very uncomfortable traveling with young kids, but was not allowed to change rooms later. Very scantily clad women were all over the place just "hanging out" and the police came and took people away in handcuffs twice while I was there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

When travelling, if you're tired enough, sometimes all you want is a pillow for your head and a place to take a shower. That's what you'll get here. This Motel 6 is VERY basic. The rooms are small. A stay in summer will be uncomfortable for those persons accustomed to having air conditioning available. For the price, which is comparable with the prices offered by similar chains and by other Motel 6s, more should be offered. On the plus side, desk staff was very hospitable. The clerk who checked us in was cheerful, upbeat, and was obviously doing her best to make us feel that she was happy we had chosen to stay there. This Motel 6 is close to conveniences such as restaurants, a grocery store; there is easy access to freeways and major arteries.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit on the east side, for a quieter evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We arrived when they were having a dog show in Portland. We and our puppy were happy about this, as well with the excellent staff. Room was small, bed was hard, no toiletries and definitely needed updating. If you are in need of quiet and privacy, this may not be for you since the walls are thin. Less than $ 60.00/night. They offer weekly deals if you could that long. We didn't.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The good:
Close to restaurants (fast food) and safeway
Cheap
Vending machines

The bad:
No toiletries or tissues
No fridge or microwave
Tons of road noise
Paper thin walls and bedding
Lousy pillows (one per person)
Stained carpets and furniture
Low water pressure
No breakfast
Dingy shower
You have to pay for the wifi which doesn't even work
Lobby and halls reek of tobacco

Wouldn't stay here again. My first and last motel6 experience

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

I had not planned to be back in the Portland area so soon; nor did I plan to be staying at a Motel 6. A friend's husband died, and this was where the family suggested we stay. The room had two beds. A desk/ drawer unit, a TV and a threadbare armchair. Soap, toilet paper, towels and bed linens were provided but no other niceties - not even a box of tissues. The room was worn - carpets were faded, stained and mended. Cigarette holes were burned into the comforters and blankets. The worst problem with this hotel was the aroma - the room smelled so bad I went to the drugstore and purchased an air freshener! The grass lawns and small flower bed on the property were well manicured and maintained.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard

Address: 17950 SW McEwan Rd, I-5 at Exit 290, Tigard, OR 97224
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard Hotel Tigard
Tigard Motel 6
Tigard Motel Six
Motel 6 Tigard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Portland South - Lake Oswego /Tigard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.