We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a suite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9575 SW Locust Street, Tigard, OR 97223 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Tigard
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not really a suite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The rooms are large and they do have a microwave and mini fridge.

To me a suite has a sleeping area that has a door so that someone can stay up while someone else goes to bed.

The price was good and the location is excellent for food and shopping. The hotel is somewhat dated and could use updating but again for the price can't really complain too much.

The free "high speed" wifi is not high speed. It dropped relatively frequently just the internet connectivity not the link status. It's fine for email, twitter and the like but inadequate for streaming anything. It seems now though many places charge a per day fee for this though so again it was inconvenient but for free can't complain. Just shouldn't be marketed as high speed.

In my opinion this is closer to 2.5 stars than 3.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    66
    32
    23
    7
See reviews for
58
42
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked hotel using hotwire since we only needed it for one night before we journeyed further south the next day. We weren't sure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised with our experience.

Rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable, lots of pillows, and separate sitting area.

They serve a hot breakfast in the morning that we were very pleased with. The scrambled eggs were cooked perfectly!

We arrived around 130 am and noticed a odd smell in the room. It smelled like body odor. The smell dissipated when we turned on the AC, but would return when AC was off. We didn't asked for another room since were only were staying one night and were too exhausted from our day of traveling.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent three nights in a spacious king bed suite equipped with microwave, mini-fridge and complimentary in-room wifi with decent connectivity. The bed was comfortable and I had really good quality sleep. The location is super convenient. Washington Square is right across the street. Restaurants such as Red Lobster and Cheesecake Factory are nearby.

Breakfast selection changes daily. Hot food such as scramble eggs and pancakes are replenished frequently. Their afternoon baked chocolate chip cookies were so yummy! I forgot to bring swimsuit or else would have used the swimming pool. There were several machines in the fitness room.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiet stay on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a good choice for business travel if you need to work in the room. There is ample space, you don't feel crowded. For the money, a room in the $100-$120 range, this is a really good deal. This is a good location, within walking distance to the mall and to restaurants. People giving this below average reviews are just asking too much from a hotel in this price range. The property is not new, but it is in good condition, the carpet in my room looked very new, so they do the needed upgrades.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPOLEI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rooms are "suites", so their good size. Location is perfect! Easy on and off highway, huge mall right across street. Water pressure in room was awesome. The staff was kinda blah. Not rude, just there. No attempts to be friendly. But not rude. Breakfast is incredible. Eggs, omelette, French toast, bacon, sausage, great selection.... It's slightly more than your Super 8's and Motel 6's but considering the room size and breakfast, it's so worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

the only complaint that my wife and I could possibly have had was that the door to our room had a firm close. The first few times it closed with a loud bang until we trained ourselves to close it softly. Our neighbours had to do the same, so we were started a couple times. Other than that, the sleep quality, cleanliness, quiet, location, were all just fine and well worth the room rate. Breakfast was modest but certainly adequate. Since the many negative reviews, I believe that things have changed significantly. I am critical of things that are 'not right' but I can say that were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Price is cheap, but the service quality is pretty good.The receiption is nice, room is clean, everything is new, the continental breakfast is pretty good,they have one employee who's in charge of that.
If possible, I'll choose it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah703, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We are more than happy to read of your enjoyment at our property. As a team, from housekeeping, to the desk, to our breakfast attendant, we strive to make your experience with us is a positive and pleasant one. In our renovations to make your experience with us even better, we hope that you'll return to see us perform as a DoubleTree by Hilton; coming soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard

Address: 9575 SW Locust Street, Tigard, OR 97223 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel conveniently located 15 min from downtown Portland with comfortable guest rooms, indoor pool, onsite restaurant, complimentary WiFi, in-room microwave and refrigerator, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard Hotel Tigard
Phoenix Hotel Tigard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.