We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back, but it could use some work.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, OR 97223   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Card Package!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tigard
GreenLeadersSilver level
MusicTraveler2
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I'll be back, but it could use some work.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

First, as my review title states, I will be back to this Embassy Suites. I'm mainly writing this to give a heads up to fellow travelers and hope hotel management reads it. I've been staying here for years, but this last trip there were some disturbing trends. First, the pros:

Walking distance to lots of shopping, great restaurant (Stock Pot) right down the street
Quiet rooms, particularly for a busy area
Convenient to lots of south Portland area business
Spacious rooms, even for an Embassy Suites
Friendly and helpful staff

Unfortunately, the first thing I noticed on this trip as I got into the elevator was the absolutely filthy control panel. It was so filthy I didn't want to touch it, and in the middle of flu season too. I did see someone cleaning another elevator, hopefully they hit the one I was in next, but it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months.
Checked into my room and grabbed a glass for water and immediately it felt gritty. I held it up to the light and it was a mass of fingerprints and dried.....stuff. It was obvious a maid had not even tried to wipe it off or made a mistake and grabbed a dirty glass and put it out instead. Really put me off on the room though.
The breakfast is poor; greasy and unappetizing. I stay in lots of Embassy Suites, and this one is bad even by the relatively inexpensive standards most of them have. Soggy fruit, greasy hot breakfast, it just isn't very good.

I will return because the pros outweigh the cons, but this hotel needs some attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    214
    86
    32
    22
See reviews for
204
121
23
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have stayed at this Embassy Suites close to ten times. Obviously, we like it. The fact that the suites have two rooms makes this ideal for families, but it is also nice to have the extra space even for couples. The hotel is located next to Washington Square Shopping Mall, so you can shop or eat there. The hotel's breakfast is included in the price and is very good. Egg dishes are cooked to order. There are potatoes, bacon, sausage, pancakes, muffins, fruit, cereal, etc. also available along with coffee, tea and juice. The quality of the food is good. Sometimes, the wait in line can be long, but the employees are working hard to keep things moving.

The complementary night reception from 5:30 p.m. until 7:30 p.m. is very nice as well. There are snacks and drinks: wine, beer, mixed drinks, soft drinks, etc.

Parking can be an issue, particularly when there is a convention or event. There are convention and events often, particularly on weekends.

There is a small indoor pool, which smaller children love. The hotel has added a small, but adequate, gym for the dedicated or ambitious. I never made it in there, but the weights looked appropriately heavy.

Our stay cost a little more than $100.00 per night, which when you include breakfast and reception for two, is a bargain.

Of course, Oregon has a hotel tax, but it also has a suite tax. The Oregon legislature is working hard to make your dollars into tax dollars. But to be fair, the total tax is not nearly as bad as Washington State or California.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I really like this trend I am seeing, where a good full breakfast AND an evening happy hour with free snacks and drinks is the standard. This hotel is in on that trend too, and has nice spacious rooms and a very nice layout. Nice pool and hottub area too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

we had a very nice stay employees were very helpful and the rooms were very nice to the hotel was very quiet there is a restaurant was reasonable price and the pool looked very clean we didn't use the weight room or anything like that

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Clean, friendly and very quiet. From check in to check out staff was friendly, helpful and very professional. Complimentary drinks, breakfast was great. Food and drinks were great. Will always book our rooms at the Embassy Suites in the future. So close to Washington Square and the Stockpot Restaurant. Great location. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here New Years Eve, after attending a wedding in the same facility. I rented three rooms. One for my wife and I, and the other two for our daughters and their husbands. The accommodations are nice, two room suites. The king bed was heavenly, and there is a morning breakfast that is fantastic, not your continental, but a real cook to order breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size from room to room with the same category. I rented three rooms, all two room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have couple of times in this hotel when I'm traveling to Portland for a business trip.
The hotel provides me with every thing I need: large room with a place to work, good breakfast and happy hour with free drinks.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, OR 97223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tigard
#2 Business Hotel in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland-Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. The hotel is pet friendly - dogs only - for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.