We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best complimentary breakfast ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, OR 97223   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Tigard
Boise
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best complimentary breakfast ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great value in a mid-range hotel. Rooms are large, and the breakfast buffet is full featured and of great quality for this price of hotel. Check out the made-to-order omelettes. Excellent. This hotel styling is a bit dated, but still nice. Looking forward to if they ever do a re-model. Love the atrium style building. Nice swimming pool, work out facilities, and staff is very helpful.

The one at the Portland Airport is the same concept in every way as this one, but it's newer. We've stayed there many times. Washington Square is where we're starting to stay because it's closer to where we want to be, and it's very nice to be on the mall property.

Room Tip: I like the views from the higher rooms, and love riding the glass-enclosed elevator, looking down on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    180
    80
    29
    20
See reviews for
164
95
22
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not a typical Embassy. I stay here every quarter and can't stand it, but need the location. Before I leave Beaverton, I'll be checking out other brands of hotels. Totally outdated, free Internet is worthless because it rarely works, employees are nice, but overall, this property is a joke. Hilton - make them fix this property please!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to update and improve our guest experience from property presentation to included amenities. Thank you again for your review and for being a loyal guest to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The mall and Target near the hotel was very convenient for someone who stayed over a week. The hotel shuttle service was very efficient. The front desk staff were always cheerful in rendering service. But the hotel manager never managed a single smile during my 8-day stay.
Housekeeping services were excellent too.
The Crossroads Restaurant was a reliable source of comfort food and drinks at reasonable prices. But it closes at 11pm sharp. The breakfast buffet had exactly the same food choices everyday throughout the week-long stay.
The suites are spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: Some rooms are farther from the WiFi routers so internet crawls in the bedroom. Avoid those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites, Tigard on August 20th, 2012. The suite was spacious and clean. It's nice to have the free WiFi for Hilton Honors members. The free parking area was spacious. Dinner was very good and a good value. As always, cooked-to-order breakfasts are wonderful - with selections of yoghurt, juices, etc. We look to find Embassy Suites on our travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel about 6 years ago and it's only gone down a little as it starts to show it's wear with signs of age. The rooms are still roomy and the bedding seemed crisp. Good wifi connection speeds and free for elite HHonors members. A good selection of HD programming on the TV made the stay comfortable. The breakfast was very crowded and not super well coordinated. They had to open a ballroom to accommodate overflow seating, but not a terrible issue. The hotel seemed packed and yet the service was still up to par. The proximity to the mall is great, and it's an easy trip to Portland. I would still after all the years choose to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in this hotel while shopping at Portland. Great location, close to almost everything. From the time that we checked in to check out time, staff was great.As usual, hot breakfast in the morning is the way to start the morning.Our room is very comfortable and clean. Usual standard for Embassy suites but what set this place from the rest is the great service we got from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our stay at the Embassy Suites in Washington Sq. The staff upon arrival was friendly and very helpful. Our room was so comfortable, it felt like home . This was our very first stay at an Embassy Suites and we really liked it. From the full hot cooked breakfast to the managers cocktails and appetizers party each evening. A really special treat. The staff even drove us to the subway each day and came and got us upon return from our touring downtown.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend this hotel. All around they deserve high awards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, OR 97223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland-Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. The hotel is pet friendly - dogs only - for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.