We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, OR 97223   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Card Package!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tigard
GreenLeadersSilver level
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“High standards as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites, Tigard on August 20th, 2012. The suite was spacious and clean. It's nice to have the free WiFi for Hilton Honors members. The free parking area was spacious. Dinner was very good and a good value. As always, cooked-to-order breakfasts are wonderful - with selections of yoghurt, juices, etc. We look to find Embassy Suites on our travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    214
    86
    32
    22
See reviews for
204
121
23
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel about 6 years ago and it's only gone down a little as it starts to show it's wear with signs of age. The rooms are still roomy and the bedding seemed crisp. Good wifi connection speeds and free for elite HHonors members. A good selection of HD programming on the TV made the stay comfortable. The breakfast was very crowded and not super well coordinated. They had to open a ballroom to accommodate overflow seating, but not a terrible issue. The hotel seemed packed and yet the service was still up to par. The proximity to the mall is great, and it's an easy trip to Portland. I would still after all the years choose to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in this hotel while shopping at Portland. Great location, close to almost everything. From the time that we checked in to check out time, staff was great.As usual, hot breakfast in the morning is the way to start the morning.Our room is very comfortable and clean. Usual standard for Embassy suites but what set this place from the rest is the great service we got from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our stay at the Embassy Suites in Washington Sq. The staff upon arrival was friendly and very helpful. Our room was so comfortable, it felt like home . This was our very first stay at an Embassy Suites and we really liked it. From the full hot cooked breakfast to the managers cocktails and appetizers party each evening. A really special treat. The staff even drove us to the subway each day and came and got us upon return from our touring downtown.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend this hotel. All around they deserve high awards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here in September. Hotel is like any other Embassy Suite with the atrium in the middle. Little outdated, needs to be renovated. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the usual - made to order omelette and pastries. Nothing special. However, the one thing that excited me the most was free wifi for hilton honors members. Any catagory, don't need to be Gold level. I know it may not be a big deal but if you read the reviews the one biggest complain is paying for internet. Well, this hotel will give you a login password if you ask them when checking in. All you need is an Hhonors membership which is free. For my daughter and myself this made our day. Nice service on their part. Wish all Hilton hotels did that. Convenient location beside the Washington mall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed in a number of Embassy Suites, and this one is quite nice but in need of a little sprucing up. Like all Embassy Suites, it provides an evening manager's reception as well as cooked to order breakfasts. All good, but on one of the mornings they were so busy that there were lines for breakfast and seating areas were all consumed. To their credit, they had the area adequately staffed and they turned over tables in short order while keeping the area clean.

Sprucing up means that the internal hallway carpets looked like they could stand a good cleaning and the TV's in our room were both fuzzy CRT's with remotes that were quite balky.

As a HiltonHonors member, there were no extra perks. I was particularly offended that they charge $9.95 per day for in room Wi-fi. There were guest computers in their business center, but they were exceedingly slow dinosaurs.

Being next to Washington Square Mall, it was convenient to shopping and restaurants. We made several trips to downtown Portland, and it was quite easy to do that. On the whole it felt crowded to me - small atrium, parking with narrow spaces ..... some in nooks and crannies, and surrounded by busy side streets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I live in hotels and just spent two weeks here. Hotel is a bit out of town but in a convenient location. PROS: quiet, free parking, good free breakfast and evening reception drinks and snacks, large comfortable suites, clean, friendly attentive staff. CONS: same food every day, only two laundry machines for entire hotel, TV sets are old with no HDMI input, windows don't open and room can get stuffy, pool and hot tub heavily used by kids, wi-fi overpriced. Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, OR 97223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tigard
#2 Business Hotel in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland-Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. The hotel is pet friendly - dogs only - for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.