We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, OR 97223   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Tigard
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great location, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in this hotel while shopping at Portland. Great location, close to almost everything. From the time that we checked in to check out time, staff was great.As usual, hot breakfast in the morning is the way to start the morning.Our room is very comfortable and clean. Usual standard for Embassy suites but what set this place from the rest is the great service we got from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    179
    80
    29
    20
See reviews for
163
94
22
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our stay at the Embassy Suites in Washington Sq. The staff upon arrival was friendly and very helpful. Our room was so comfortable, it felt like home . This was our very first stay at an Embassy Suites and we really liked it. From the full hot cooked breakfast to the managers cocktails and appetizers party each evening. A really special treat. The staff even drove us to the subway each day and came and got us upon return from our touring downtown.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend this hotel. All around they deserve high awards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here in September. Hotel is like any other Embassy Suite with the atrium in the middle. Little outdated, needs to be renovated. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the usual - made to order omelette and pastries. Nothing special. However, the one thing that excited me the most was free wifi for hilton honors members. Any catagory, don't need to be Gold level. I know it may not be a big deal but if you read the reviews the one biggest complain is paying for internet. Well, this hotel will give you a login password if you ask them when checking in. All you need is an Hhonors membership which is free. For my daughter and myself this made our day. Nice service on their part. Wish all Hilton hotels did that. Convenient location beside the Washington mall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed in a number of Embassy Suites, and this one is quite nice but in need of a little sprucing up. Like all Embassy Suites, it provides an evening manager's reception as well as cooked to order breakfasts. All good, but on one of the mornings they were so busy that there were lines for breakfast and seating areas were all consumed. To their credit, they had the area adequately staffed and they turned over tables in short order while keeping the area clean.

Sprucing up means that the internal hallway carpets looked like they could stand a good cleaning and the TV's in our room were both fuzzy CRT's with remotes that were quite balky.

As a HiltonHonors member, there were no extra perks. I was particularly offended that they charge $9.95 per day for in room Wi-fi. There were guest computers in their business center, but they were exceedingly slow dinosaurs.

Being next to Washington Square Mall, it was convenient to shopping and restaurants. We made several trips to downtown Portland, and it was quite easy to do that. On the whole it felt crowded to me - small atrium, parking with narrow spaces ..... some in nooks and crannies, and surrounded by busy side streets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I live in hotels and just spent two weeks here. Hotel is a bit out of town but in a convenient location. PROS: quiet, free parking, good free breakfast and evening reception drinks and snacks, large comfortable suites, clean, friendly attentive staff. CONS: same food every day, only two laundry machines for entire hotel, TV sets are old with no HDMI input, windows don't open and room can get stuffy, pool and hot tub heavily used by kids, wi-fi overpriced. Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is 8 miles outside or portland. A very easy drive into portland right off the free way. They have a great breakfast and happy hour at night. They are pet friendly. The desk clerks are very helpful . We ask for some places to eat and they printed out a paper with places with in five miles of hotel. The room were very clean my only complaint is the TVS this is the 20 centery please tube tvs in this modern day. Real pluses . Great Breakfast, free parking cocktail hour clean room, pet friendly friendly service and a nice resturant what else can you ask for. There is a very bif maul right out the back of the hotel within walking distance.All the big department stores are there plus a big sporting goods store.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be nice We were there during a Navy Formal and it was still very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All American City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is an older Embassy Suites, but my husband and I enjoyed our stay here. I love the hilton brand hotels, because you usually get a clean room and excellent customer service.

Pros:
Room was spacious and clean.
Excellent breakfast and service. Every morning you get to enjoy a hot and complimentary breakfast. The omelets were delicious. Because you're on the west coast you don't get the grits but home fries instead, which were consistently delicious.
Convenient to restaurants and shopping. Washington Square mall was within walking distance.
Felt safe.

Cons:
Terrible parking area and parking spaces were very narrow.
Courtesy guest computers were ancient. It reminded me of dial up.
Wi-fi was an additional $9.95 per day.

Overall, an 8 on a 10pt scale.

Room Tip: I always choose a room away from the atrium or elevators. Also, this hotel is in the process of upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, OR 97223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland-Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. The hotel is pet friendly - dogs only - for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.