We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon

Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon
2114 W 6th St, The Dalles, OR 97058-3524
541-298-2771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in The Dalles
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Northwest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you want great comfort food this is the place for you! We have been eating here for years when we drive through and the quality is always the best.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    85
    32
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Family Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great salad and wonderful service. Menu had something for everyone in our group. Stopover after kids basketball game. Quick and clean.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good service, disappointing food. Great specials in bar area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Went to Cousin's for a comfort food fix, but we were both left disappointed by the food. I had the mac n cheese, and it was obvious it had been sitting out a while before it arrived on the table. The cheese sauce was congealing and the rigatoni was cold til I stirred it up. The five cheese sauce was bland and watery, as well. My better half had the chicken fried steak, which had a weird, overpowering taste of ham to the gravy that overpowered everything else. The mashed potatoes and gravy it came with were also bland. Not all was bad, though; a bowl of French onion soup was quite flavorful and properly smothered in Swiss cheese. The hot bread and fresh churned butter that came with the meal were amazing - we ended up getting a second mini-loaf, it was so good.

The service was always prompt and friendly, and drinks were refilled before they were empty. The "grandma's farmhouse" atmosphere was fun...total roadside Americana. The bar area had dinner specials far better than the main dining areas - there were $5 burgers and cheap pints available if we'd eaten in that part.

Next time we visit we'll eat in the lounge and see if we have better luck with the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escape L, General Manager at Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We appreciate your review of your dining experience with us. As we have said before, we truly use each and every review as a learning tool and yours is no exception. We pride ourselves on providing home-style cooking at affordable prices for our neighbors and visitors alike and are sorry that we weren’t able to do that for you. We are happy to hear that you will return and give us another chance to provide you with not only great service but great food too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Extremely warm, friendly, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We entered the restaurant and immediately heard, "welcome cousin". Nice way to start a meal. We were seated, ordered and served in a timely fashion. The meal was good and the price was fair. Weeks after we got back home, we got a postcard in the mail from our "Cousins". I won't forget this restaurant and will go back as often as possible. Great marketing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kinda corny place, but the food is excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

People are extra nice, and the place is kinda fun. Your mom will love this place.

I have probably eaten here 5-6 times before and it was never just OK, always good to great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.