We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great -- sparkling clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dalles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Dalles Inn to your Saves list
The Dalles Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 W Second Street, The Dalles, OR 97058   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great -- sparkling clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

We called a couple nights before our arrival, a Friday evening in June 2007. The Dalles was not our destination; we just wanted to stay here to break up a long drive into central Oregon from Seattle. We were pleasantly surprised by both the hotel and the town. The young woman at the front desk was highly businesslike and anticipated all of our needs. We felt slightly let down when we saw that our room was in a different building than the main office, probably the older part of the hotel (maybe 1970s, as opposed to the 1980s or 1990s-appearing main building). However, the room was perfect, newly decorated, everything sparkling clean. In fact, we were struck by how clean the whole town of The Dalles is. You really have to look to see any speck of litter, any wad of gum stuck to the sidewalk. The next morning we got up early to get on the road, and saw a couple shopkeepers out sweeping up their grounds (at the gas station across the street!). I should also mention that the town itself has great views and a calm, old West atmosphere (yet somewhat upscale). Next time we'll spend more time in this area.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    141
    50
    13
    7
See reviews for
71
133
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for five nights in September 2006 and the room rate was $60+tax. The price is OK as long as you don’t expect Best Western quality. Previously I read statements like “best hotel in The Dalles” or “recently renovated.” The first statement could actually be true, as there are not many options in The Dalles. My room was in the “motel section” which looked like any other old motel and I couldn’t see any sign of a recent renovation. The hotel section didn’t look much better either. Parking space was very small and it was difficult to fit a full-size car in. Breakfast was below average, the sitting area was very small, and they often run out of something. Room service wasn’t great either: I usually left in the morning and, sometimes, my room wasn’t made up at 3 p.m. Altogether it was not a nice hotel experience. I should have paid more and stayed in Hood River which is a nicer place than The Dalles.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — room, room service, breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Bay
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

We stayed in 7 Best Westerns on our trip and we found the quality to be very uneven, this one was nice and well situated. Nice large room, everything worked, good WIFI, ok breakfast.
We enjoyed excellent porkchops outside by the river at the Windseeker.
Our stay in this hotel was part of a 53 day US tour that took us over 10,000 miles, 36 different hotels, and a different restaurant every evening. We were on a budget so did not stay in luxury hotels or generally eat in expensive restaurants. This review is relative to what we found on average. We booked all hotels in advance over the internet, when available, and checked them all against reviews on TripAdvisor.com which we found very helpful.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Parking was tight
  • Tips/Secrets — Have dinner at the Windseeker, much better than it looks
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

The staff was fine. However, they take advantage of this area being very popular and area hotels quickly filling up. The buildings were poorly maintained. Our room was dumpy, poorly cleaned and over priced. We felt that I could have gotten a simlar room at a sleezy road side motel. There was debris all over the floor and the sheets were not clean! There was even a clothing item left in the room from the previous guest. We asked for new sheets and pillow cases. While a staff person was replacing our sheets we all noticed that the new "clean" sheets also had dirty markings/stains on them. At this point we went to our car a got our sleeping bags to use.

  • Liked — That it had a room available.
  • Disliked — Diry, dumpy, overpriced
  • Tips/Secrets — This area books up fast! The only reason why we stayed here was because everywhere else was full.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dalles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalles Inn

Address: 112 W Second Street, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dalles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel in the historic downtown district of The Dalles. Stay in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge with its many outdoor activities. Stroll the charming streets of the historic downtown taking in the history and dining in the local restaurants. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dalles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalles Hotel The Dalles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dalles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.