We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer Bad food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rivertap Pub

Rivertap Pub
703 E 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058
+1 541-296-7870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 60 Restaurants in The Dalles
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good beer Bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The.service was poor, we waited ten minutes for menus, our table never was wiped off. I wanted a lite meal, the waitress recommended I order the Hummus with flat bread & veggies, my husband ordered Thai flat bread.
The hummus and bread were delicious, however, I sent the veggies back because the carrots were wilty and the celery was white and mushy. I was given more of the same (the celery was so rotten that my fingers sunk into gel). When I kindly tired to explain why I couldn't eat my meal, the waitress cut me off, she didn't want to hear what I had to say. You'd think the feedback would be welcome/helpful?
My husband's Thai flatbread was a spinach tortilla with stuff piled on top. The center was soggy, the 1" boarder/crust was dry with nothing on it. It had to be eaten with a fork, it was not particularly appetizing, was texturally odd, yet the favors were good.
In the end, I was not charged for my meal (rightfully so!). We would not eat here again, but would go back for the live music and to have a beer (which was reasonably priced and they had a good selection).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhododendron, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm "local" to The Dalles! I purposely make The Rivertap one of my "stops" every few days. I travel "solo" but always run into current friends or make new ones from out of the area. 9 or 10 Micro's on tap, as well as a good selection of liquor, esp Single Malts which are hard to find elsewhere in town. Service is friendly & quick. Outdoor seating is plentiful. Kids are welcome. 3 or 4 Big Screen TV's, but their background music is even better! Very, Very fun spot! Stop by! By Paul

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not an outstanding place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I expected more from some of the reviews below, but we found the place to be poorly furnished with little atmosphere. I did not expect restaurant standard food, but even as pub food it really wasn't very good. They did have several beers, but no list other than on the wall in another room. Service was OK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good beer, Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This restaurant/microbrewery was within walking distance of our hotel. The boys enjoyed the beer. The food was OK but would have liked more choice

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Dalles must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If your in The Dalles you may as well spend some time at the RiverTap Pub but do so resposibly. There is no excuse when you know there out there (the PoPo) and the Cabs are cheap.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivertap Pub also viewed

 

Been to Rivertap Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivertap Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.