We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in The Dalles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Lone Pine Drive, The Dalles, OR 97058   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in The Dalles
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best in The Dalles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

I've stayed in almost all of the hotels in The Dalles, Or, and this one is probably the best. (None are terrific) It seems a little further out of town than I would like, but it is still only one or two exits off the Interstate from the rest of the town. It is a standard corporate hotel, two floors with no elevator. The back side faces the Interstate, so noise might be a problem. I ran the fan all night to create white noise and shut out the sound of trucks. The breakfast was skimpy, but we like Mama Junes Pancake House, with the best breakfast in town, so we didn't miss anything. There is a small covered pool. The staff were friendly, and the room was very clean.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable room
  • Disliked — Location out of town
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, August 27, 2008
We are very happy to hear about your stay. We appreciate your feed back very much.
Hope to see you soon .... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
22
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2005

Our room was quiet and clean and a bit larger than most with a small sofa and sitting area along with two queen size beds. And the morning breakfast was delicious with lots of hot choices like waffles that you make yourself, biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereals and hard boiled eggs. Service was great and the woman in the kitchen, Cindy worked her tail off to keep things clean and organized! My only complaint was that breakfast hours should be expanded to be open about an hour longer for us late sleepers (particularly on the weekends). But I can live with it. If nothing changes, I'd go back here again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2005

The hotel was very clean, but it did smell of bug spray.

When we asked about the restaurant across the road, the manager wouldn't say anything. The hotel did have a "Soup Bar"; so we ate soup and a salad from McD's.

The complementary breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2005

The room was cramped and smelled of disinfectant, and we had a lovely view of the interstate. The sink was completely plugged and the overworked front desk clerk told us that there wasn't anybody who could fix that night. It still hadn't drained by the next morning. The landscaping was nice, however. I wish we had gone on to Hood River...

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2004

On November 18, 2004, I had an unfortunate stay at the Comfort Inn in The Dalles, OR. When I entered my room, I could tell the room smelled like bug repellent. I put up with it even though I didn't like it. The next morning when I was picking up my bag off the floor, I noted a bug of some sort moving on the carpet on the floor and figured that was why the room smelled so strongly of bug repellent. This experience certainly didn't make me want to return to the Comfort Inn!

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2004

I have stayed at this hotel several times, and it is always a good experience. It's not a fancy hotel, and the decor is nothing to write home about, but it's always clean and comfortable. Having a refrigerator in the room is handy, and the free breakfast (including make-your-own waffles) makes a good start to the day. The staff is friendly and helpful, and dogs are allowed. Freeway access (84 and 197, and it's right by the bridge to Washington) and parking are easy, it's within walking distance of the Columbia River, and there's a nice big grassy lawn with a pond full of bullfrogs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2004

I have traveled a considerable amount with my job and was beyond surprised and impressed with the overall upkeep of this facility. The overall appearance was in line for the style of hotel (nothing extra special) but it was just so well taken care of. The extended breakfast and room accommodations (refrig and microwave) are also nearly unheard of for the price we paid. I complimented the front desk and they shared that the owner was very involved and made sure he kept up on any repairs or upgrades to the property. That was very refreshing to here!! Another bonus - it was easy to access from the interstate or from WA via crossing the Columbia River.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Address: 351 Lone Pine Drive, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Hotel The Dalles
Comfort Inn The Dalles
The Dalles Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.