We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Lone Pine Drive, The Dalles, OR 97058   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Bedford, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our first visit to The Dalles, and to this hotel. We were very pleased from the moment we walked in the door. We were welcomed with a friendly smile and fresh baked cookies.
Everyone on the staff here was very helpful and always friendly. The king room was quite clean and comfortable, with plenty of room. The free morning breakfast was always hot and very sufficient. it had a nice variety on it from cold cereal, pastries, two flavors of waffles and fresh real scrambled eggs. Breakfast was there even for those who got up late. The free internet is nice, and TV has all the basic channels.
Overall it was a very nice place to stay at, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you book this hotel more than 90 days out through choice.com, you may be able to get a significan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We have been working on our breakfast area. Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
31
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We usually stay at a Best Western but after a bad experience in Florence, OR, we decided to try something else in The Dalles.
The Comfort Inn was an excellent choice from the very beginning. A reservation was negotiated over the phone but I admit I was concerned because the price was so much less than the BW's we had been staying. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly manager who had our reservation ready exactly as negotiated. I loved the chocolate cookies at the desk. The room was comfortably furnished with a king bed. It had a split bath which was nice. Clean, clean, clean
Our 2 poodles were welcome at a small additional fee ( negotiated at reservation time). The hot tomato soup with crackers was a perfect evening snack.
After a quiet and most comfortable night's sleep and a good breakfast
we hit the road happy and well rested. We will stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing us! We are happy to see that your stay was so nice and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Long story short, this hotel stole $175 from us. My husband and I had planned to stay here for a night over the summer so called to book a room based off of the other reviews. A few weeks later, our plans changed. I called to cancel our reservation well before the deadline they stated in their cancellation policy. The front desk worker could not find my name in the system and told me that they reservation must not have gone through - I had never received the confirmation email and the worked checked under both my name and my husband's name so I took their word. Fast forward another month and I have a charge from this hotel on my credit card. i called the hotel and talked to a very kind man who did some searching via our credit card number and found out that the person who took my initial reservation had spelled my last name wrong. Therefore, when I called to cancel I couldn't be found in the system. After over a month of trying to contact the manager I have yet to hear a response. So, because of the incompetency of one of this hotel's workers we are now out $175. This is terrible and unacceptable. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Please respond to our Corporate Email that is reaching out to you at the General Manager's request. On any furture stays, always provide an email for your reservation confirmation, or make a note of the reservation confirmation number when an email will not be provided. When unable to locate a reservation to cancel, the hotel staff can send you a cancellation confirmation in other ways to avoid a "no-show" charge, With your first & second contact to the hotel, the General Manager dicussed the charge and options for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

From phone calls for reservations to check-out each interaction with any of the staff was very positive.

We spent two night there. The room was clean and neat. The area where the desk was in room we had was quite cramped...distance from to bed to desk was very short.

Breakfast was standard fare, but presented nicely and was restocked frequently. The eating area had more room that some places we stayed.

Despite being quite close to a freeway it didn't bother our sleep a bit.

The grounds outside the building were very well maintained...an example of what we found inside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments of our property. And, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed at several different hotels when visiting The Dalles, but decided to give the Comfort Inn a try this time. We were not disappointed with our king room, although it was a little tight quarters. The room was super-clean and well-appointed. The TV and Internet worked great. The breakfast was good - scrambled eggs, sausage, ham - the usual other fare of cereal, oatmeal, breakfast breads and pasteries - a waffle maker - etc. This was a very good value for the price and we will definitely stay here again. But, be warned, there is no elevator so if stairs are not your thing be sure to request a first floor room.

Room Tip: No elevator - stairs were not a problem for us, but might be for others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us!! I am very happy to hear the scrambled eggs were a nice addition. Hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very friendly staff. The room was clean, very sufficient and quiet. Our bed and pillows were especially comfortable. There was both a fridge and microwave. Our room cost was $99.00. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. Our housekeeping staff do a great job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Metta greeted us at the desk with a smile. We arrived a bit early, asked to check in and they went out of their way to accommodate. The rooms were very well appointed and clean. They looked up directions to where our family was located without being asked. Inn was located in a convenient location right off the freeway and easy to find. Will definitely stay there again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I will share this with Metta. She is truly one of our most valuble team members. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Address: 351 Lone Pine Drive, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in The Dalles
#5 Business Hotel in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Hotel The Dalles
Comfort Inn The Dalles
The Dalles Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.