We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Three” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Lone Pine Drive, The Dalles, OR 97058   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best of Three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed in room #117 - 2 queen beds. The room was clean and comfortable by my rather high standards. The bed and bathroom linens were very clean and nice - plenty of towels. The included breakfast was the usual fair (something for everyone) and the breakfast room was clean and pleasant.
We chose this hotel after personally viewing comparable rooms at the Shilo Inn and the Celio Inn when we stopped to inquire about availability and price at both hotels. It can be a little uncomfortable to ask a front desk attendant if you can see a room before you decide to book but it can be well worth it to avoid disappointment.
Everyone scores a hotel by different standards. So what pleases me may not please you. But this is a really decent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you will choose us again when you need a hotel in the beautiful Columbia Gorge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
26
29
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Greg greeted us at the front desk with enthusiasm and "glad you are here" attitude. Not only did we have a great experience on check in but he recommended a restaurant downtown that was great. We needed to print documents from the computer at the business center but the printer was not functioning. Terry was available to help and we got the document printed. Greg and Terry went over the top to help us. Thanks for the good experience. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Wow, what a great review. Thank you very much. I will be showing this one to Greg. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having an Inn by an interstate highway, one would expect some vehicle noise! However, I don't recall hearing any traffic which was wonderful! The front desk was very welcoming and answered questions. Even when asking where to eat, the gals gave a wonderful recommendation of a local restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am happy to see this nice comment about us being located near HWY 84. Many guests have noticed how quiet it is. Hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here a number of times over the years. It has always been a pleasure. We have two small dogs and were given a very comfortable and quiet room. Metta, who checked us in, was very friendly. She gave us a coupon for use at the Baldwin restaurant (which was delicious...I had the Seafood Linguini.) When we checked out the next morning, Metta had remembered that it was my birthday and wished me a good day. We will definitely be back. There are so many interesting places in and around The Dalles that this Comfort Inn is an ideal spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. I am happy to hear that Metta is doing such nice things. Hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here during a Columbia river gorge road trip for Memorial Day. The hotel was clean, spacious room, good\firm bed, and adequate breakfast(hot and cold). There is a McDonald's right outside, and another upcoming theatre\restaurant, but otherwise it is about a 2 mile drive from the Dalles downtown. Very close to the dam, pretty views just strolling nearby.

Strongly recommend driving east on the Columbia river gorge highway for a while from this point. The views are ASTOUNDING!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Motel for 104 nights during a temporary job assignment. With a stay that long I had the opportunity to experience any good and bad regarding the operation of this motel. There was not a single thing that I can complain about. The accommodations were what you would expect from a Comfort Inn at the price per night. Bed was comfortable and the fridge and microwave were very handy during this extended stay. The flat screen TV was nice.
The staff was very nice and helpful. With the amount of clothes for this extended stay, I asked if they might have any extra hangers. I was promptly provided with hangers to take care of my clothes. With their schedule and my schedule I did not get acquainted with some staff as much as others. Metta, Elena, Amanda and Greg were particularly accommodating with recommendations for restaurants, sightseeing, hiking and anything else I wanted to ask about. When walking through the lobby I was always greeted by name. They responded to my needs quickly and efficiently whether it was a burned out light bulb or something else. The maintenance staff took care of these things promptly. Miriam's housekeeping staff cleaned the rooms very efficiently each day.
The breakfast included a good variety and was ready early each morning which accommodated my work schedule. The washer and dryer were convenient for me to take care of my laundry. The pool and exercise room were being remodeled during part of my stay. I was however provided with free vouchers to a very nice fitness center that was close to the motel.
I definitely recommend this motel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

VERY expensive, small crowded room, couch, big flat screen with lots of TV stations, micro, fridge. Outside of town next to the bridge and dam. Noisy AC. Get rid of the wardrobe. Really annoying wifi when you are working on something and suddenly you have to log in again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Address: 351 Lone Pine Drive, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Hotel The Dalles
Comfort Inn The Dalles
The Dalles Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.