We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House Special Curry Sauce is Curry Perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montira's Thai Cuisine

Montira's Thai Cuisine
302 West 2nd Street, The Dalles, OR
541-769-0500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in The Dalles
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The best Thai food we've ever eaten.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“House Special Curry Sauce is Curry Perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Never judge a book by it's cover. This place looks like it is a converted Denny's. Easy access off the Interstate. Nice Thai art adorns the walls, the overall feel is unpretentious.

Service was a little inconsistent but friendly. Our server was in the middle of training so we had to be patient. The food made up for the slow service. The House Special Curry with Vegetables & Tofu was as good as it gets. Seriously awesome red coconut curry sauce that I was tempted to lick from the plate. Another meal enjoyed by our party was the Pad Thai with Chicken.

The Heart Shaped Rice servings were beautiful and once again, perfectly prepared. Chef Ken is a certified genius.

If I lived in The Dalles I would eat here several times a month for sure.

Well worth pulling off the Interstate if you are travelling from Portland to points East.





  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Probably would have earned an excellent but our sesame chicken mail was luke warm. Much better food than we expected for being out and away from a big city. Service could have been better

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“the food was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

we're from Portland so we have lots of choices for thai food but compared to them, this place was better than a lot of the average places in town. It was a very busy Fri night so it took a long time for the food to come so if you're hungry and the place is busy, get an appetizer while you wait.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

On our way home from CDA to Longview and saw this place on tripadvisor. Thought we would pull off and give it a shot and I am glad we did. Excellent food! Had the house curry and it was spot on. The cashew chicken sauce was the best I've ever tasted. If you are traveling the 84 this would be worthy a try... If you like Thai!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in The Dalles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stop here for a meal every time I'm in town on business. The Phad Thai and the fresh salad rolls are fabulous. I've never had a bad meal. It appears to be a family owned restaurant that takes pride in serving high quality Thai food with a smile. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montira's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Montira's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montira's Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.