We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Momma Janes Pancake House

Momma Janes Pancake House
900 West 6th Street, The Dalles, OR 97058
541-296-6611
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Kalispell
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good choice for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Full of locals, very friendly, quick service, very accommodating. Had a good eggs benedict. When I requested no potatoes, fruit or anything with it, I was pleasantly surprised to find they adjusted the bill. That has never happened to me before! The eggs were perfectly cooked. Will eat there any time I am in The Dalles.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dufur, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I wish the Country gravy or sausage gravy was homemade, it was bland and the kind you buy dry and add milk or water! For a name like Momma Janes it should be Homemade, The Portions were very small, My husband did not care for his omelette nothing hardly in it! Average Place, quite Senior Citizen Restaraunt

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Came to The Dalles during spring break. Visited this restaurant with my family after circling city proper of The Dalles. Noticed lots of people eating at Momma Janes. Went in and we weren't disappointed. Very friendly staff, clean, reasonabl priced and the food tasted good! We had pancakes, omelettes and cinnamon roll. All yum! The owner was warm and hospitable. Wouldn't mind having all my breakfast there while at The Dalles.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“good brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

pancakes are BIG and the marionberry compote on top was made of real fruit and yummy. the homemade coconut syrup is delicious. The chicken and bacon sandwich was good but not great and my daughter's grilled cheese was ok and the fries were bit limp. Overall, good family brunch place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Based on other reviews we picked this spot for breakfast on a overnight trip. We could not have been happier. We got here about 9am on a Saturday and while busy there was no wait for a table. We were greeted by several employees and when we asked for water our waitress immediately offered to bring a carafe for our convenience. We took a while to order bit no one pushed us and after ordering our food was ready so quickly. Being diabetic I ordered whole wheat pancakes and sugar free syrup. This was no problem and delivered with a smile. Our sons also loved their food which is a rarity with picky kids. When the reviews say the portions are large they mean HUGE! It was wonderful from start to finish

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momma Janes Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Momma Janes Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momma Janes Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.