We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles to your Saves list
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Bellevue Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

Stayed at the Shilo in The Dalles last weekend. The room was extremely dirty and smelly, mostly because the carpet had not been cleaned in ages (black paths between the bed and the bathroom - you know how it is). The room was showing extensive wear and tear, with dirty walls, sagging mattresses, and a general feeling of delayed maintenance and poor cleaning. It has been a long time since I have stayed in a motel where I was reluctant to touch the fixtures or furniture because the place was so dirty and smelly. The lighting was very poor, the towels thin and the only "goodies" were a couple tiny bottles of shampoo. The price was over 90 dollars. Too bad, as the Shilo has always been a good name in the Northwest. I'm sorry to have to report this place has not been upgraded since it was built. Nice people at the desk, but someone higher up must not care. Stay away!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    35
    56
    31
See reviews for
33
53
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

We were very disappointed in the dark, noisy and smelly room we got at this hotel. The room had only two small lights. I think it was to help hide the dirty carpet. The walls were so thin we could hear everything in the room next to ours. The "free breakfast" ended at 9:00 am on a Sunday morning, so if you don't get up early, don't expect any free breakfast. The room was expensive, over $80, for this not so nice place. Next time, we will drive to Hood River and stay at the Best Western. We will not stay at the Shilo Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

Desk service was pleasant and the clerk had a good knoweledge of the surrounding area.
Room 127 had nice furniture and the room itself was clean but the bathroom was another story...
Mold and the hotelroom seem to be very good friends. The shower had a bathmat glued to the tub and mold was growing around the entire mat boarder. Next came the the mold covering the grout on the shower walls not to mention the missing grout between the tiles in the showerhead area. I assume it is of little importance to the cleaning staff and apparently there is little to no quality control to follow up.
This is not my first stay at a Shilo Inn but next time it happens it will be my last!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

Shilo was clean and comfortable. Pillows were too hard (but we forgot to bring our own). Continental breakfast could have offered more - add some fruit and maybe dry cereal. The price was very affordable. People at the desk were very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Lake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

My daughter is getting married in June of 05. This hotel and its manager Laura have been the greatest people to work with over the past 9 months. They have been so kind and helpful. Would recommend it to any one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2005

My husband and I came to The Dalles to attend a friend's funeral and was so grateful for the hospitality of the staff. The man washing the front doors greeted us with a warm smile as he held the door open for us. Our room was exceptional clean, and the manager went out of her way to accomodate us. We will definately go back when we have more time to enjoy the view from our room.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2005

My wife and I spent 7 nights at the Shilo Inn, The Dalles, OR last June. What a fine reception we received from the Staff and what a pleasant and comfortable room! Our room looked out at The Dalles Dam and the Columbia River. The room was cleaned and made up early each day. The breakfast provided was excellent to start your day off right. A walk around the grounds was beautiful. Everyone we came in contact with was eager to help and pleasant to talk with. I can't say enough about the manager Laura Comini and her staff of how welcome they made us feel. When we come back to The Dalles there is no question where we will stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.