We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected from the reviews” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles to your Saves list
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected from the reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Bad choice; on vacation and so far the worst hotel we stayed in. I don't know where the good comments came from but our room had a lousy view; mold in the bathroom; a/c worked but no thermostat to adjust. Reported this at checkin but not taken care of. Breakfast was a "laugh". Should be ashamed to advertise the"complimentary hot breakfast. Reported this also and was told that they heard this many times but the caterers are independent of the hotel. Never again choosing Shilo Inns.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    40
    58
    32
See reviews for
37
57
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
medford, or
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed in unit "C" facing the parking lot. Air conditioning was much noisier than other hotels in similar price range; otherwise it was very quiet. Wireless access did not work until I took my lap top up to the main building. Staff did their jobs but appeared to be just going thru the paces; no apparent enthusiasm. The location is great: right on the river with an excellent view of the dam. Rooms facing the river with porches would be a better choice if not overpriced. Only reason I would recommend is for the location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Great location, wonderfull staff, especially the bar tender. She was wonderfull. Pleasure to stay there and will again. We have stayed there 4 times and have always been treated as we were special.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloTheDalles, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
Thank you for your great comments on the staff here at Shilo Inn Suites-The Dalles, OR. We take pride in creating special memories for our guests. I am so happy that you were made to feel "special" during your stay. From the moment a guest walks through our lobby doors, we want them to feel at home. Yes, our location is fantastic and the scenery is beautiful. We will be looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Three friends and I were crazing some time away from the city and had decided we needed to spend a day around a pool in the sun in The Gorge. We wanted the one night trip to be cost effective and found the Shilo Inn to have a great offer on their larger suite. It was a very nice room. Well kept, decor up to date and perfectly accommodating for four girls. The staff was wonderful and the pool was perfect. We enjoyed walking around the Dallas that evening as it was only a few exits away from the downtown area. Overall, we were very impressed and have decided to make this trip a new annual tradition. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and appreciated all the wonderful amenities and friendly nature of the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloTheDalles, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, August 14, 2009
Dear Vacationseeker2009, thank you for your great comments. I am so happy that you and your friends were able to enjoy all of our free amenties and found our large suites to be priced at a very affordable rate. The Columbia Gorge is a perfect place to spend a weekend away from the city. The Dalles is rich in history and is centrally located in the gorge. Just minutes away from wineries, white water rafting, hiking and wind surfing-the activities are endless. We are proud to now be a new annual tradition for you and your friends. Welcome to the Shilo family, we eagerly await your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We are a couple with our dog that have spent a month at the Shilo Inn. When we first arrived to The Dalles, our company booked us at Comfort Inn which wasn't nearly as nice or welcoming as the Shilo has been. We moved to the Shilo and have enjoyed the beautiful view of the dam, help and kindness of the staff in every department, and friendlyness toward our dog. We also have enjoyed the delicous complimentary breakfast offered in the restaurant. We highly recommand the Shilo Inn for any guests hoping for a nice, relaxing, and beautiful stay in The Dalles!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloTheDalles, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, August 6, 2009
Thank you for such lovely comments. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed our accommodations and staff during your extended stay. It can be hard being away from the comforts of your home, that is why we want all of our guests, including our four legged friends to feel welcomed while staying with us. As a dog friendly hotel chain, we understand that they are a part of your family; therefore we treat them like family. Come back and see us again soon, we'll have a treat waiting for your dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Had an internet problem, they came very quickly and helped get our computer set up properly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Pa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I stayed here while driving cross-country. I was moving back to the east coast, so I had my 2 pets. My dog and my pet boa constrictor. I had to leave the hotel for a bit, so I tucked the snake into a drawer where he'd be safe. When I returned to the room I opened the drawer, and he'd been beaten to death, and the room was not clean as it should have been. I had no proof, and they denied it, but the only thing I can conclude is that the maid, for some reason, went into the drawer where my clothes would normally have been, and found the snake.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.