We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles to your Saves list
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Washington State
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This property is located at the eastern end of The Dalles Oregon with easy on and off access to the hiway. The property overlook the river, the dam, the bridge and some interesting historical old buildings - nice setting. We had an economy queen room which did not have a deck or a view but definitely served the purpose. The room was fresh and clean and the bed was decent. The air conditioner really did its job - one of the few hotel/motel AC units that actually took it down to COLD - I like it. I did not use the pool but it did look awfully nice. I did use the sauna tub. It is very small - 3 people would be crowded but....it was nice. The staff was very efficient and friendly. The lobby is nice overlooking the river, dam, bridge and historic building remnants - nice. The breakfast included was in the restaurant - not continental . You actually got to choose from three different complete breakfasts. I chose the biscuits and gravy with juice which was quite good. Overall Shilo does a good job and this was no exception. Yes, I would stay there again. A little pricey but nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    35
    56
    31
See reviews for
33
53
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We reserved with Priceline. The front desk was uninterested in providing any level of customer service. Tiffany leaned on here elbow holding her chin while checking us in. We asked for a ground level room (no elevator, bad knees). She just said No! We checked in at 4:00pm. The parking lot was empty. She didn't even check the computer, just said No!
The rooms, while dated, are large, clean and with comfortable beds. It had everything we would need including a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, hair dryer, and nice towels.
Dining room needed a good cleaning: cob webs in ceiling light fixtures, dirty windows, and broken and missing blinds. Carrie gave us exceptional service at dinner. At breakfast they did not have assigned tables and one group waited almost 30 minutes for coffee. The staff were hard to identify with no name tags or uniforms.
Next time I will skip the Shiloh Inn. There are many other quality hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear DesertCigar,

Thank you for your recent comment on your stay with us here at The Dalles Shilo Inn. I would like to apologize for the lack of customer service that you received during your stay here with us, and I will make sure to address your comments with the agent, I will also pass on your concerns regarding the restaurant to its management. I am glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable.

Sincerely,

Heather Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

Pasco, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The reservation process was great however the description of our room was not. We arrived and were told that our room was not as described. The front desk staff was rude and acted irritated that they had to stop what they were doing to assist us. We asked to view the room and found it to be dated and not too clean. Cobwebs all over the deck and even on the ceiling. The building could use some maintenance. Old and dated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed their in The Dalles OR at the shilo inn and our stay was great. the front dest gal Danika was very kind and helpful. The housekeepers were nice. The food in the restaurant was good. Thank you and we will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Shilo Inn for two nights after coming from Seaside for vacation. The location of the hotel was great because you were right on the Columbia river and the dam was right there. The scenery behind the hotel is very nice. The pool was excellent. The rooms were clean and some had balconies. We didn't get our beds made which was very odd. The housekeeper just knocked on the door and asked what we needed. The restaurant wasn't the greatest. You only get a choice of three entrees for breakfast. Overall, it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear AnthonyPawluk,

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay with us here at The Dalles Shilo Inn. We enjoyed your stay and our beautiful scenery here in The Dalles. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you,

Heather Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed for two nights and found the rooms to be very clean and roomy (the pool was very clean). Enjoyed Ted the pianist as well as the food. Would like to thank their employee, Rich, for getting one of our motorcycles running again and saving us a lot of money.

Room Tip: If you have much luggage please note there is no elevator and a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Denise181788

Thank you for your recent comment! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Heather Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for two nites and it is very comfortable...nice size rooms and very clean. Comfy beds and nice linen. The restaurant is very good and Friday/Saturday Ted the piano player is excellent and a lot of fun...bring your singing voice. Rich the maintenance man is excellent in helping out in alllll kinds of situations, they are all very supportive and accommodating. The only issue is there reservation system, be sure to confirm well in advance as the system tends to loose your reservation which happened to me twice. Had requested 2 main floor rooms and they lost my reservation...twice...so had to haul all our stuff up 4 sets of stairs...not good but we managed. The breakfast is great as an all inclusive and order from a select menu. The staff are VERY nice, we just had a super time...ThANKS.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear DSG123,

Thank you for your recent comment on your stay with us. I apologize for the situation with your reservations; yet I am glad to hear that you had a great time during your stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Columbia Portage Grill about your experience there as well. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in The Dalles.

Thank you.

Heather Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.