We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, needs updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles to your Saves list
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
The NW
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Nice location, needs updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This property has so much potential, it just needs some updating. It's right next to the river and the dam, has a pool, an on site restaurant/lounge and is easy to get to from the highway. Unfortunately, there are some issues:

The bed was like sleeping on a wooden plank--so hard and uncomfortable!

The bedspreads are thin and occasionally stained.

The carpet is stained, in a few places, and greasy feeling. Not sure if that's because they are old, if they were cleaned and it left residue or what, but they felt sort of sticky/greasy.

The hallways are stuffy and hot. No A/C in the common areas? It can hit 100 degrees during summer in The Dalles, why no A/C?

The A/C in my room did not work properly. Thankfully, having just the fan on was enough to keep the room tolerable, but if it had been hotter outside, the room would have been miserable. By the time I discovered the A/C wasn't working I was too tired to complain or request a move to another room.

The "Free" breakfast is a choice of 3 different meals with NO substitutions. That's fine for most people, but if you have food allergies, or other issues, it's not possible to eat the "free" meal you paid for in the cost of your room.

The good:

Staff is friendly and helpful.

Restaurant/lounge had good food. Cajun and/or Northwest cuisine--interesting menu.

The view of the dam is nice, if you like looking at dams.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    40
    57
    32
See reviews for
36
57
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Hole, WY
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a similar experience to the June review. Bed was lumpy, the duvet had a brown spot on it, sheets were not tight or pressed. The room needed a thorough cleaning.
The restaurant table was sticky--we ate dinner and breakfast at the same table and it was still sticky. There are 3 decent choices for
breakfast--but it was awful. The pancake was so tough the it was still hard to cut with a knife, the scrabled eggs were also tough. We also had to wait 30 minutes for our food and the dining room wasn't crowded. Dinner was uninteresting--if it wasn't from a box, it was close.

The landscaping is well taken care of and the view quite interesting of the river, dam, bridge and railroad in the distance.

The location for the hotel is great--it needs some serious updating.
We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear dkudu,

I apologize to hear that your stay wasn’t satisfactory, and that the room did not meet our standards. I will address your concerns with the room as well as the restaurant. We appreciate your comments and concerns and we will make note of them as we continue to make improvements.

Thank you,

Heather Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were disappointed in this property. The carpets appeared old and dirty, the room door did not seal so that light came in, the bed was uncomfortable and had a bedspread/duvet that you could not tell when or if it had been washed. When that was stripped off there were holes in the blanket.

Otherwise the room was clean but everything appeared worn and in need of updating. The mattress needed updating as well and left us for the first time on a five day trip with sore backs.

The restaurant was a disaster. The food was unappealing. There were cobwebs by the windows. Blinds were broken and crooked. The waitress had to get up on the table to try to adjust one of the blinds. Not a good place for dinner. Breakfast was worse. Eggs and toast were cold when served.

There may not be a lot of choices in The Dalles but don't stay here.

Room Tip: Go on to Hood River and find a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
icitapSeattle,

Thank you for taking the time comment on your recent visit to Shilo Inn The Dalles. I apologize that the room did not meet our standards. I will address your concerns with the room as well as the restaurant. We appreciate your comments and concerns and we will make note of them as we continually make improvements.

Thank you,
Heather Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had two rooms with views of the dam. The rooms were clean but a bit small. Chairs were fairly comfortable The pool was warm and large enough for several people to play. The best part was the restaurant. We had a lot of fun there. The food was wonderful, many choices cooked to perfection. The wait staff was fabulous. We will stay here every time we are in the area..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Jill K,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at The Dalles Shilo Inns. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass along your comments to the restaurant staff as well. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay with us here at The Dalles Shilo Inn.

Thank you,

Heather Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed overnight on June 22 on our way from Reno to Seattle. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient.

The hotel has easy on/off access to the freeway, a gas station next door, an excellent restaurant, and allows pets. Smoking is not permitted in the rooms, however, smoking is allowed on the deck outside the rooms.

Our room on the bottom floor, faced the pool with a view of the river and dam. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Our only negatives were the AC was very loud making it difficult to sleep, and there were no drinking glasses in our room on arrival.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Would stay again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear E&CinReno,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay with us at The Dalles Shilo Inns, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Heather B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our room was small for the price. Wished we would have asked for a room with a view of the dam and not the parking lot. We could hear the noise from the freeway which was close by. The room was clean and comfortable other than the noise of the freeway.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Skypay,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. The room type that you were in is our standard room; however we do have different room types, many of which have views of our outdoor pool area and The Dalles Dam. We look forward to having you come back and stay in one of our view rooms.

Thank you
Heather Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

From the deck of Room 215 is a full-frontal of the The Dalles dam! Lights at night. Roar of the spillways! This room is best probably the best in the Pacific Northwest for dam hunters. The Shilo people treated us well, gave us a free breakfast and everything worked just fine. But the thunderous roaring sounds of that river through the screened open deck door all night long was worth thrice the price of admission!

Room Tip: 215 for the dam, just don't rent it out from under me on Memorial Day Weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear WatertonSeattle,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Dalles Shilo Inns. We appreciate your positive comment and I will share your comment with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Thank you,

Heather Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.