We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North of Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrebonne Depot

Terrebonne Depot
400 NW Smith Rock Way, Terrebonne, OR
541-548-5030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 restaurants in Terrebonne
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Terrebonne Depot is a full service restaurant featuring locally grown foods in a unique, casual environment. Our ingredient focused American cuisine is prepared according to season and showcases the wonderful variety of flavors found in the Cascade region.Only three miles north of Redmond, Terrebonne Depot offers the freshest food available between Bend and Portland. Enjoyed by park visitors and local residents year-round, Terrebonne Depot is conveniently located just one quarter mile from the highway en route to Smith Rock State Park, in the town of Terrebonne.Housed in Terrebonne's 100-year old former train station, Terrebonne Depot offers a wide range of fresh traditional fare, and our full bar provides specialty cocktails as well as choice local and imported beer and wine. Food and drink may be enjoyed under the exposed beams of our recently renovated historic structure or outside on our expansive deck—where views of Smith Rock and the Cascade Mountains are unmatched.
Lake Oswego, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“North of Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stopped in here because it was so convenient to Smith Rock State Park. We expected something close to fast food (which is abundantly available on nearby highway 97), but this place is far better than that. She had the seared tuna tacos which were delicious (I checked!), and came with a red-cabbage slaw. The slaw was also on my hamburger, rather than the traditional lettuce, tomato, onions and pickles. My burger was tender and tasty, quite a bit better than average. Our waitperson was very friendly and got our order up faster than we expected, too despite a nearly full house on Sunday night. I would recommend this restaurant and would certainly return if we are in that area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    23
    16
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Expected More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We'd heard good things about the Terrebonne Depot, so maybe our expectations were high, but we were a little disappointed. Was it nice? Yeah, it was Okay. Yes, the menu was varied from steaks, fish, to pork and chicken dishes. We had the calamari, I guess I should have seen the "spicy" part on the menu. Oh my! It wasn't just the dipping sauce that was spiced up but the breading was super spicy. It took me by surprise. The Hummus plate was very good, I'd recommend that. We had steaks - they were ok. I had the Ribeye, it was cooked pretty close to correct, just a little over done, and a little thin. The salad was good and the Tomato Bisque was very good. For dessert we tried the "classic" creme brule'. It was "interesting" with extra nutmeg and cinnamon spices. The atmosphere was good. I like the restored building, but the quality of food and service were not what you'd expect for a nice $20-$25 dinner. Maybe you'd do better for lunch?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Easy choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The menu is varied, and the food is significantly better than you might expect. Service and atmosphere are average, though the view of Smith Rock from the deck is outstanding. I've eaten here twice, and expect to return. You might try the Pasta Puttanesca or the Stuffed Chicken. Both are satisfying, though the Stuffed Chicken seemed the better of the two. Salads are average, and the wine choices are decent.

Overall, this is easily the restaurant of choice when visiting Smith Rock or Lake Billy Chinook.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Valentines day dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

It was wonderful as always. Special valentine's day menu which was great but their regular menu is wonderful and varied. This is such a great find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice Terebonne restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are looking for a tasty spot for lunch or dinner try the Terrebonne Depot. The the buffalo burger with smoked pork belly is delicious. I would also recommend the Ahi tuna tacos. If you are passing thorough or staying for climbing at Smith Rock state Park give the Terrebonne Depot a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrebonne Depot also viewed

 
Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to Terrebonne Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrebonne Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.