We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrebonne Depot

Terrebonne Depot
400 NW Smith Rock Way, Terrebonne, OR
541-548-5030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Terrebonne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Terrebonne Depot is a full service restaurant featuring locally grown foods in a unique, casual environment. Our ingredient focused American cuisine is prepared according to season and showcases the wonderful variety of flavors found in the Cascade region.Only three miles north of Redmond, Terrebonne Depot offers the freshest food available between Bend and Portland. Enjoyed by park visitors and local residents year-round, Terrebonne Depot is conveniently located just one quarter mile from the highway en route to Smith Rock State Park, in the town of Terrebonne.Housed in Terrebonne's 100-year old former train station, Terrebonne Depot offers a wide range of fresh traditional fare, and our full bar provides specialty cocktails as well as choice local and imported beer and wine. Food and drink may be enjoyed under the exposed beams of our recently renovated historic structure or outside on our expansive deck—where views of Smith Rock and the Cascade Mountains are unmatched.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great views, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Depot has been one of our favorites for years. The atmosphere is great! They have an awesome patio to enjoy during warmer weather with great views. The food is always consistant with a variety to tempt many tastes....the fish tacos ( ahi tuna) are the best I've ever had and they are one of the only restaurants that actually prepare them correctly.
If you want great food, great service at reasonable prices....this is the place when you drive north.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stopped here after a long hike at Smith Rock State Park. Hungry as bears, we ordered a meal that turned out to be both delicious and filling--very satisfying. The food here is interesting and well-prepared. I would go back in a nanosecond, and I highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh from the field food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stop by this converted train station after a hike around Smith Rock park for fresh food and delightful service. The home made salad dressings and fresh soups are a fusion of flavors and freshness. From the hummus plate, to the salad wrap, fish tacos and artisian sandwich, the four of us thoroughly enjoyed every morsel of each serving. The buffalo nachos ordered at a neighboring table looked appetizing as well. Our server was friendly and kept our ice tea glasses full throughout the meal. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Catch Happy Hour on the way to Bend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We always make a point of leaving Portland early enough to catch Happy Hour here. Friday night drink special is margaritas and they are good and inexpensive. The Happy Hour menu is lengthy and well priced. There's a beautiful deck to enjoy the scenery and if the weather doesn't cooperate, the interior of the old train depot is equally enjoyable. Every meal has been superb but the grassfed local beef steak was one of the best we've ever had! Make sure to leave room for dessert. The bread pudding is AMAZING!!!! Chocolate that's dark and rich and bits of banana make this one of the most memorable bread puddings we have enjoyed. Take a turn off the hiway and try this gem. It's worth the side trip.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool Setting, Great Food, Sketchy Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First, the food is superb.....try the Fish Tacos and the Ahi Poke. The beer and wine selection is excellent (pretty much a given in Central Oregon). I DO recommend you try it, but the service was quite bad.....we were ignored as we stood waiting to be seated for several minutes, even though they were not busy in the mid-afternoon. The cook finally took pity and came out of the kitchen to get us a table. Once seated it took an annoyingly long time for "Marta", the server, to stop by. When asked what beers they had on tap, she brought a list which stated you should ask your server what beers were available.....she obviously hadn't actually listened to the question I'd asked her. Worst of all, when she brought the beer, she was carrying it by holding the glass from the top with her palm over the beer.....that's a serious NO in the industry, we could only hope she'd washed her hands. Soooo, in conclusion, give it a try.....but be ready for some indifferent and slow service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrebonne Depot also viewed

 
Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to Terrebonne Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrebonne Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.